306.6

I’m just going to jump right into it today…

I gained 1.2 pounds this week, ladies and gents–just as I suspected I would. Truthfully, it was no shock to me that the scale reflected a move in the wrong direction. I was off my game this past week–plain and simple. I allowed my poor choice to “indulge” on Saturday to skew my mindset for the remainder of the week. My choices this past week weren’t horrible, but they obviously weren’t great either.

Part of what I love about actually going to the Weight Watchers meetings, though, is the fact that I get to interact with a plethora of people who are in the same boat as me. Everyone at those meetings is on a weight loss journey; everyone at those meetings knows exactly what it’s like to walk this path. When I saw the scale this morning, I was bummed out. Even though I realistically knew what was coming, I was still disappointed. Immediately, though, the people at my meeting rallied to help me curb that disappointment.

“I gained this week too, Rachael.”

“You still lost 11 pounds in one month, Rachael!”

“Yesterday I went to Arby’s and ate one of those market fresh sandwiches… It wasn’t until after I got home that I realized the sandwich was 19 points. I blew my entire day on one meal. It happens to the best of us.”

Story after story and anecdote after anecdote was thrown out to me to keep me going and keep me from wallowing in my disappointment.

Everyone was so kind to me today, and I soon found myself laughing and joking about my week right along with everyone else. My leader also reminded me that I’m new at this–today is only the start of week four for me. It’s taken me nearly 22 years to put this weight on–all of it isn’t going to just slide off in a couple weeks’ time.

So everything just is what it is. I just have to do better this week.

My goal for this week is twofold: 1) I am going to continue to increase my exercise. This week, I am going to spend some time on the elliptical, and when my fitness DVDs finally arrive in the mail, I am also going to get working on those. I am super excited to finally start yoga! And then 2) I am also going to work on not indulging at all this week. Sure, I can have that bag of chips or that cheeseburger I’ve been craving because, after all, that’s the great thing about Weight Watchers: so long as I manage my points well, I can eat whatever I want. But let’s be honest… if I eat a cheeseburger–even if I meet my daily point goal that day–I’m still not doing myself any favors. I’m not going to continue to lose weight by eating cheeseburgers and chips–I’m just not. There are alternatives to cheeseburgers and chips–alternatives that are actually going to help me–and that is what I need to be eating, so that’s going to be a big part of my goal for this week.

~//~

I hope each and every one of you has had a better week than me, and I also hope that you have a wonderful upcoming week, too! I’m making it my personal mission to have a better week this time around,  and I hope you make it your mission to do the same.

rachaelxoxo

6 thoughts on “306.6

  1. Sounds like you have great support!! I am so shy at my meetings when I had a gain I just sat in my chair in the corner and tried not to cry! It really is all part of the journey though. Going forward just try not to let an indulgence dictate your whole week, get right back on plan! I am working on this too, I’ve found for myself that one indulgence leads to 2 more and then I’m back on track, it’s funny to see these patterns of behavior when you’re looking for them. Wishing you a fantastic week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for the comment, Gen!

      I have always been a fairly outgoing and talkative person–even in spite of my weight! At my second meeting, one of the women said, “Don’t take this the wrong way… but you seem very well adjusted. You aren’t quiet or closed in on yourself, which is what often happens when you gain weight. How is that possible?” And my response was… “Yeah, I am, and it’s because I’ve always been this way.”

      I have honestly been overweight my whole life. I was like this as a kid and teenager, and now I’m like this as a young adult. If I had let my weight prevent me from talking, I’d have never, ever talked! So I don’t have a problem at all during the meetings. I really put myself out there and make the most of it every time, and that has been really, really, really helpful to me.

      I have a harder time being honest with my friends and family members, though–that’s where I clam up. I can be real here on the internet, and I can also be real with the strangers at my meetings. When I open up to the people closest to me, though, it always seems to backfire. The people closest to me are my enablers, unfortunately, and none of them really seem to get what all of this is about.

      As far as indulgences go… I can’t seem to stick to just one indulgence. I gave in to temptation on Saturday, and then suddenly I started craving crappy food. Then I ended up having a 12 point sandwich a couple days later, and then I had a 6 point bag of kettle chips a day after that, so on and so forth. I came in under my point goal daily, but it wasn’t by eating good, healthy foods. That was the problem.

      I need to learn to control myself with food, and, unfortunately, I’m just not at a point where I can have one “unhealthy” thing and then step away from the food and get back on track.

      Hopefully I will get there eventually, though!

      Thanks again for commenting, Gen, and I hope you have an absolutely wonderful week! ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  2. My suggestion concerning the cheeseburger, just eat half of it and then you get the pleasure and only use half the points. You know if you can handle a half burger though. But you might be surprised if once you give yourself permission the desire just leaves.
    Now concerning the gain, everyday is a new beginning and I just bet that it will be gone next week. On the weeks I didn’t lose, it would seem that I got into some pants that I couldn’t wear before. Remember Romans 8:1. Know that you can, you can. Tomorrow is a new exciting day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • One day I hope that that’s something I’ll be able to do! My relationship with food is incredibly dysfunctional, and eating half of anything is quite a challenge for me. On Saturday, I went to Uno Pizzeria and Grill with my family. I got a mango iced tea (0 pts.), a black bean avocado veggie burger (12 pts.), and a side of steamed broccoli (2 pts.). So I was able to dine out at a restaurant for 14 pts., which is a little over 1/4 of my daily point allowance (which, in my opinion, wasn’t bad). The veggie burger satisfied my cheeseburger craving, and in comparison to Uno’s buffalo cheddar burger (20 pts.), I think I made a pretty good choice. My eating has been pretty topnotch since my last weigh-in, so I am hoping that the scale starts moving in the right direction again on Friday! 🙂

      Thank you so much for your support. It means so much to me, and you are so very appreciated! I really look forward to hearing from you! You always manage to encourage me. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Awww! Thank you for your sweet comments. I am going to Celebrate Recovery for my food addiction.

    I used to be the cook for the group. I think God has a real sense of humor, having someone with a food affiction be the cook for a group of those with addictions.

    But it was through this that I had to admit my food addiction. My first sponsor, an ex- drug addict , told me that addicts could put the “tiger” in a cage and with Gods help walk away. But with food addiction, you had to take the tiger out 3x a day, pet it, and then put it back in the cage. Yep. Sigh.

    Isn’t it wonderful that God understands offers us healing from ourselves? I pray you have a successful week of victory. I know you will.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

