295.2

Starting Weight: 318.2 lbs.
Weight Last Week: 297.6 lbs.
Current Weight: 295.2 lbs.
Weekly Change: –2.4 lbs.
Total Weight Lost: 23 lbs.

~//~

Hello, friends, and happy Halloween!

I hope today (and tonight) has gone well for you all. I know that for many people, Halloween—and particularly the temptation of candy—is a real struggle. I mentioned in last week’s weigh-in blog that, thankfully, Halloween isn’t too big of a problem for me because I’m not big on sweets. Being a more savory, salty kind of girl, this holiday isn’t really a blip on my radar, so my daily PointsPlus allowance has been intact…

Anywho… I lost another 2.4 lbs. this week, bringing my grand total to an overall loss of 23 lbs. on the nose! For the past 3 weeks now, I’ve lost just over 2 lbs. at each weigh-in, so I think it’s safe to assume that I’ve found my groove. It’s looking (and feeling) like 2-ish lbs. per week is going to be my norm, and I am very content with this number. There are 52 weeks in a year. If I were to continue to lose 2 lbs. per week for one whole year, that’s 104 lbs. gone—which is just over 2/3 of my goal (not to mention, in the beginning, I lost way more than 2 lbs. at each weigh-in, so it’d actually be more than 104 lbs!). So, really, 2 lbs. per week is exceptional!

Honestly, I am just so thankful for and pleased with my overall success thus far. To lose 23 lbs. in just 7 weeks’ time is amazing. I feel so proud of myself that I’ve been able to do this! It’s been very, very hard at times, but it’s also been very, very worth it! I am gaining more confidence in myself—confidence in my abilities, in my strength and determination, and in my general outlook on life and this journey I’ve found myself on.

You know, sometimes I don’t think we really know just how much the extra weight we carry actually holds us down. Only when we start to shed the pounds and come out of our shells and let go of old familiar doubts do we see the extent to which our weight has damaged our lives. My weight has caused me to feel so self-conscious, and the more pounds I’ve packed on over the years, the worse it’s gotten. I absolutely dread having my photo taken. In the past 5 or so years, I can count on less than two hands the number of times I’ve allowed my photo to be snapped. I hated the way I looked so much that I guess I was just hoping that I could erase myself from the situation by not allowing there to be photographic evidence of my being there, showing just how bad I looked.

Isn’t it sad what we sometimes do to ourselves when we let our weight get out of control?

I am just now starting to think of all that I forced myself to miss out on because of my weight and how embarrassed I was about it. For instance, I didn’t go to my high school prom because of the fact that I hated having to dress up and pick out plus sized dresses that were frumpy and no where near as gorgeous as the dresses made in smaller sizes. And I also didn’t want to be forced to be dateless or end up going with a guy who I’d never be able to truly believe could look past all of this extra flub I’ve always carried and actually like me and see me as a human being. In high school, I pretended like I was too cool for dances and football games and pep rallies and school spirit, but, the truth is, I didn’t like myself enough to feel comfortable enough to participate in all that stuff, and now, several years down the road, I really wish I had participated so that I could have those memories and experiences tucked away in the back of my mind.

But I guess it’s true what they say, you know: if you don’t love yourself, you can’t expect others to love you either.

I know people have always picked up on my negative energy about my weight, and I know that’s affected how I’ve lived my life thus far, and I know that my negativity is what’s stopped me from allowing myself to experience normal, fun things that are part of being an adolescent or a young adult.

Now that I’m gaining more confidence in myself, though, that’s all going to change. Thinking about all of these missed experiences is keeping me motivated, because I’m done missing out on life. There are things I want to do, and I’m going to do them. The weight is coming off, and that’s good enough reason for me to believe that I can do just about anything. 🙂

I hope the rest of you are just as convinced of your own abilities, too.

~//~

I also hope each and every one of you has a wonderful, successful week. Eat well. Be well.

rachaelxoxo

9 thoughts on “295.2

    • Thank you so much, my friend! I look forward to reading your blogs and talking with you over the comments. It’s always so lovely to hear from you!

      Thank you so much for your prayers, support, and faith in me! It means so much to know that I’ve got someone constantly rooting for me! ❤

      How was your Halloween? I know that sweets are your "guilty pleasure." Were you able to resist all of the candy? I am sure you did! I know you are more than capable! 🙂

      Like

      • I didnt overeat candy, but i have having one – two pieces a day. I am thinking of giving what is left to the Homebound Ministry at church for their gift baskets. There is just too much here still. And yes, I do love sweets. God help me! Ha ha!

        Like

    • Thank you so much for your support, Alison! It means so much to me! I am sure you know just how valuable the positivity is… It’s hard to be on this journey, but I feel accountable thanks to all of you, and the support I get from you guys keeps me going! So seriously—thank you! ❤

      And I've found it's really helpful to think about the past and the "misdirections" I've taken. If I think about the past and really reflect on it, it motivates me to do better this time around, because I don't want to be that person anymore—or ever again!

      Like

  1. Woohoo! Congratulations, you are certainly headed down a healthier path!

    Forgive me, catching up with everyone after a week or so of absence. 🙂

    Halloween was going great until my MIL came home with a three pound bag of candy. I definitely ate some candy. It all fit within my calorie goal for the day but ugh. Disappointed. Sooo, I hid it in inconvenient places from myself and didn’t tell anyone else where it is either. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for catching up with me, B! I always appreciate it!

      And to address the other comment you left me on another post about measurements—I’m going to take your advice! I just have to go out and buy a tape measure first! Haha! I don’t have a scale in my house, nor do I have any other weight loss “paraphernalia” like that. Before I started this journey, I didn’t own any of that stuff because 1) I didn’t care enough about my weight and 2) I avoided any and all reminders of just how heavy I was. Now I still don’t own a scale or anything else because I’m afraid of becoming obsessive. I don’t want to turn into the girl that weighs herself and/or measures herself every day… That’s not who I want to be! Like everything else, I have to learn to find a balance 🙂

      I bought some candy for the trick-or-treaters, and I did have a piece of it, and I’m trying hard not to feel guilty. I am not big on sweets, so overindulging isn’t/wasn’t a problem… I still felt weird after having an Almond Joy, though! It’s weird to put full-on sugar like that into my system after 8 weeks cold turkey without it! Weird experience for sure!

      I am glad you were able to stay within your calorie count, though, and that you successfully tucked the candy away to avoid temptation! Good for you! Willpower! 🙂 ❤

      Like

    • Thank you so much! I actually AM proud of myself, which is something I haven’t been able to say for quite awhile! It feels good to be so successful! 🙂

      Thank you for always taking the time to read and comment during the week! Your support means so much—which, since you’re on a weight loss journey of your own, I know you know. Knowing there are people out there rooting for you makes this process just a bit easier to handle! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

