SOS

SOS — I am sending out a distress signal, blog friends.

This post is going to be short, sweet, and to the point. I am having a really hard time this week. I am struggling to stay on plan. Saturday was a disaster. I sat around all morning and boredom-ate with my dog. I knew exactly what I was doing, but I did it anyway.

I get 48 Weight Watchers PointsPlus per day. By 11:30 AM on Saturday, I’d used all but 15. Yesterday was marginally better, but I still overate at breakfast time. I’m coming in under or right at my point limit every day, but I know that I’m self-sabotaging for some reason.

About 10 minutes ago, I ate two Reese’s peanut butter cups for a total of 5PP. I’m not big on candy/sweets whatsoever, but I wanted it, so I ate it. The reason I’m feeling so bad about this isn’t because I broke down and had some chocolate; the reason I’m feeling terrible about this is because I’m eating when I’m not hungry! And to compound that, I’m eating junk food when I’m not hungry.

I’m trying really, really hard to ward off a food binge.

I don’t know what’s wrong or why I suddenly seem to be intent on going off plan, but I am just riding the struggle bus this week.

Can you guys send me some positive vibes if that’s your sort of thing? I could use any help I can get. I want so badly to keep my good momentum going… I’ve just hit a wall–mentally–or something.

~//~

Here’s to hoping all of you are having a better week than me, and also that mine will turn around!

rachaelxoxo

22 thoughts on “SOS

  1. I completely understand! I do this to myself all the time – particularly when I am bored. My mom is the same way. I don’t know what sage words I could offer, but I do send you tons of good vibes and thoughts of strength. I turned down a second doughnut last night, so I have some to spare. 😀 Hang in there!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It happens! Recognize it, accept it probably won’t be the last time either, and dust yourself off. It’s not worth beating yourself up over. I just did this last week over candy. For like five days straight D: This week is starting off right though, so we will see what tomorrow has in store for weigh-in, eek!

    Besides, just a few posts ago (broadly, ha), weren’t you concerned about not using all of your points per day? So far, so good as far as I can tell. You’re human and life just reminded you, that’s all. 🙂

    Easier said than accepted but after a day or two of getting back on track… No problem! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for your support and encouragement, B! It means so much to me! ❤

      I know I'm just all over the place. First I'm worried about not eating enough, now I'm worried about eating too much! That should show you a glimpse of what the inter-workings of my mind is looking like these days! I'm just all over the place, all the time!

      I will do better. I have to! I will be thinking of all of you guys this week; you keep me accountable and focused in some small way. Thanks for coming to my rescue!

      Good luck with your weigh-in! I am looking forward to reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Just keep moving forward and know it will pass! As you know I just had a couple of really rough weeks where I was really disheartened and felt like it was starting to be too much, but I just kept doing the best that I could and I now feel back into the swing of things! I don’t have any sage advice besides just keep going! We’re all here for you and cheering you on!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks, Gen!

      I am overwhelmed by the response I got here from everyone. I appreciate your support so much! Most of you have been here before (and I know that you have, in particular!!), so you help me remember that this is something that will just pass so long as I keep pushing forward.

      Hopefully I can turn things around like you managed to do! I want to lose the weight badly enough that I know I can turn this around; I just have to get my mind right.

      Isn’t it weird how you can be doing SO WELL and then your brain kicks in and suddenly this process gets about 100x harder overnight?

      Ah, the joys of the weight loss journey!

      Thanks so much for commenting, Gen. I really, really appreciate the positive reinforcement! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I totally get where you’re coming from. I’ve managed to get my pointless eating mostly under control. What has helped me is taking time to think whenever I want to get food. I need to decide if I’m actually hungry. And if I’m not actually hungry, then what is my motivation for wanting to eat?
    My triggers are boredom, loneliness, and rejection. Once I can pin down what I’m feeling, then I can figure out what to do about it instead of eat.

    And remember…one weekend of poor eating isn’t going to undo all the great work that you’ve already done. Shake it off and start again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Drie!

      Thank you so much for saying that! “One weekend of poor eating isn’t going to undo all the great work that you’ve already done. Shake it off and start again!” That is EXACTLY what I needed to hear right now. You are absolutely right! Sometimes I manage to forget that it’s taken me 22 years to get this big–it didn’t happen overnight. A lifetime of bad eating has done this–not one day or one weekend. Thank you so much for reminding me of that.

      I need to continue to work on determining whether or not I’m actually hungry. I think part of my problem is that I’ve never really, truly known what it’s like to be hungry. Thankfully, I grew up in a place and in a situation where I was never forced to experience that feeling. When you grow up overeating, it’s hard to recognize “hunger.” I’m working on it, though.

      Thanks so much for your encouragement! ❤

      Like

  5. Oh dear. I think it’s happening because you’re self sabotaging. All I can really suggest is don’t even have that food in your house. If you want to binge, binge on yogurt and berries (or something like that). Like Drie said, one weekend isn’t going to undo everything. Reset your mind, remember why you started and why you’re doing it in the first place. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi there, and welcome to my blog! Thanks for stopping by and commenting and following! I am sorry that my first post you’ve experienced was a cry for help; I swear that most weeks I actually do very well and have positive things to blog about! Haha 😉

      I think you’re right about the self-sabotaging, though, and I’m wondering if it has to do with the fact that I was on a hot losing streak and then ended up plateauing at my last weigh-in… I kept telling myself to keep going, but maybe subconsciously I went back to my old habits after a disappointing week. Honestly, I’m not sure.

      I know better than to have “junk food” in my house. It’s not something I buy anymore–the candy just happened to be leftover from Halloween and it was just sitting on my counter. Tomorrow it’s being given away to my neighborhood kiddos, though — ALL OF IT.

      You and Drie are both absolutely right: this is just one bad blip on the radar. Tomorrow I WILL start over.

      Thank you so much for your encouragement. It means the world to me that you took the time to send me some positivity here! ❤

      Like

  6. This is why I think when I cried out for God’s help. He instructed me only three meals. I could have anything I want but only half portions.

    I held this record since May 2013. Then on November 1, 2014, I messed up. Husband wanted a sausage dog at the Pecan Festival. He offered to give me half. Even though it was a hour before supper I agreed thinking that would be supper.

    Then at supper he wanted to go out for Chinese. Even though I choose veggies n grilled meat- I knew, I knew. Then at weigh in, gained a pound- from one half a sausage dog? Ahhhh!

    But you know what , after a lot of prayer, I begin again. After a week of being careful, I lost two pounds.

    Failure is not falling down, failure is not getting up again to start over.
    So you messed up. Okay, tomorrow is a new day. Shake this off and get up tomorrow with a new resolve .

    Now I will tell you the best way to handle the desire for chocolate. Since I can have it on my program, I get the small individual M & M packages. Half the package is 10. I count out the 10 and eat them one at a time letting each one melt completely before I get another. After doing this for 10 times I get satisfied. But 10 M&M = 39 calories. Only 39 calories for complete chocolate satisfaction. If I want to, I can eat the other 10 at my next meal.

    This had helped me so much and the fact that I can only have my three meals with nothing in between takes care of my mindless eating too!
    God is so smart, He gave me a food plan just for me. And I haven’t messed up for one year and half. But I prayed, asked God to forgive me, asked for help to forgive myself, and just started over again in peace.
    Lord, protect my friend from the gluttony monster. Grant her Your peace and strength to turn away from the temptations and help her start over again tomorrow with new strength and new determination. Gods love to you, my friend. Sorry I wrote so much on your blog. You are the first person I told about the mess up on Nov 1, except the hubby.

    Now look forward to your victory because it is just ahead. You can do this, you can.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for sharing your story here, my friend! It helps me tremendously to know that I’m not alone in this indiscretion and that everyone on the weight loss journey encounters problems and setbacks like this occasionally. It’s nice to be reminded that we are all human!

      I am going to give your rule of half a shot the next time I get some kind of out of ordinary hankering. I think that’s such a good plan — now if only I can stick to it!

      I am going to start over tomorrow. I am. I don’t want to let myself down anymore, and I don’t want to let any of you guys–all of the people who are supporting me and rooting for me–down either! I know that with the right mindset, this is absolutely possible. I know I can succeed! I just have to get my mind back in the right state.

      Thank you so much for praying for me and for sharing your faith with me. You are a very strong woman, and I appreciate your encouragement more than you know.

      I am so proud of you for sharing your story here and for managing to get back on track and lose two more pounds! What a victory! Congratulations! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I thought you might be having a tough week. When you wake up in the morning, remember:

    The past is a meal you’ve already eaten, which can’t be changed, but each day is a new opportunity to do something positive about your weight. Don’t look back, look forward, and never give up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for that! That’s a quote that I need to write out and stick on my refrigerator! You are absolutely right: past meals can’t be changed, but future meals can be! I can start over. I have the power to make a change. And I will!

      The comment that you left me on Saturday actually stopped my ridiculous eating right in its tracks. Your encouragement means so much to me! I am blown away by the response I’ve gotten on my blog.

      I know that you know how difficult weight loss can sometimes be. I don’t know why some days (or weeks) are so much harder than others, but that’s just the way it goes, I guess.

      Thanks again for the encouragement! I hope your week is going well and that you’ve been able to stick to your plan at work! I’m looking forward to reading your next stats update! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. This happens to me practically every weekend. It’s a thing that I keep trying to break myself of. Mostly you should be proud that you wrote about it and tracked it! Being accountable is the start! Have faith in yourself and everything will be fine!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement, Alissa!

      Part of the reason why I love that my weeks start on Fridays is because the weekends are a tough time. If I go out to eat, it’s going to be on a weekend. If I go out to the bar, it’s going to be the weekend. Etc., etc., etc. It’s nice to be able to do that and then have the rest of the week to kind of even things out, ya know?

      I hope you had a great week and that you didn’t follow in my footsteps in regards to getting a little out of control!

      Thanks again for the support ❤

      Like

  9. I agree what what most are saying, accept it, and move on, don’t beat yourself up over a cheat. I suggest finding out what is triggering the cheats tho so you can fix it…is it stress, hunger, boredom, or social eating? Then try to make some changes so you don’t fall into the same pattern.

    I’m in the same boat, trying to lose and get healthy so what I do when I “need” or want a cheat is chug a cup of cold water so I have time to think about if it’s worth it, and after my water if I still want it I eat it, most of the time I can pass on it tho!

    Hang in there, you got this! Think healthy thoughts

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, and welcome to my blog! Thank you so much for the support — it means so much to me!

      I try my best not to call anything a “cheat.” In my mind, deprivation isn’t a good thing. When I tell myself that I can’t have something (and then, thus, label that something as a “cheat”), I end up binging on it. It’s like my brain says, “Oh, really? We can’t have that? Then it must be REALLLLLLY good. Better eat 6 or 7 of them.”

      I’m more about moderation. If I want a piece of candy, I let myself have it — the key is to just not go overboard. The problem here is that I was bored-eating. I wasn’t hungry, and I don’t think I even wanted the candy. I was just eating out of sheer boredom. That is really, really bad, and that’s why I was so upset with myself.

      When it comes to food, I have to keep myself on a short leash, otherwise I end up binging until I’m sick. It’s hard to keep myself from slipping off the edge sometimes. For some reason, the beginning of this past week was just really hard for me :/

      I really like your advice here about the water, though! The next time I feel like eating because of something silly like boredom, I’m going to have a glass of water instead. I think that that will really help me!

      Thanks again for the support, and I appreciate the advice, too! ❤

      Like

  10. Pingback: 292.4 | My Journey--One Day at a Time

Leave a Reply

