281.0

Screen Shot 2014-12-26 at 5.13.43 PM

Starting Weight: 318.2 lbs.
Weight Last Week: 282.0 lbs.
Current Weight: 281.0 lbs.
Weekly Change: –1.0 lb.
Total Weight Lost: 37.2 lbs.


Hello, friends!

This is my very last weigh-in blog of 2014! I don’t weigh-in again until January 2nd. Time sure flies, doesn’t it?

I hope you’re all well today! I have read a few post-Christmas blogs, and it seems that some of you are discouraged and having a tough time. If you overindulged on the Christmas holiday, it’s OK! You just have to keep moving forward and push past it! Nothing is irreversible! This process isn’t easy—trust me, I know. We all have bad days; we just can’t let the bad days define us.

I managed to lose one pound this week, and I am happy with that. We had a white Christmas here in Colorado, and the next week is going to be very cold and very snowy, too. The weather wasn’t great this morning: the snow was still coming down and it was very, very cold. As a result of that (and possibly, too, the fact that it was the day after Christmas), only 5 of us showed up to Weight Watchers for the meeting. And of the 5 of us, I was the only one to lose weight.

So keeping that in mind, I was happy with my one pound loss. Yes, I was hoping to break 280 lbs. before the new year, but it’s OK that I didn’t. This is a marathon, not a sprint. I will get there eventually, and every pound gone helps!


I ate my Christmas fish last night, and I didn’t feel guilty at all afterwards. I had 3 oz. of the maple almond crusted salmon and 2 oz. of the mahi-mahi. I also ate a small side salad, some Green Giant steamed cheesy cauliflower, and a small, plain baked potato. The whole dinner was a grand total of 11 PointsPlus (5PP for the salmon, 1PP for the mahi-mahi, 0PP for the salad, 1PP for 1 Tbsp. fat-free Thousand Island dressing, 1PP for the cauliflower, and 3PP for the potato). I used the same rule of thumb for my Christmas dinner as I did for my Thanksgiving dinner: I ate what I wanted, but I didn’t let any of my food touch on the plate. That really seems to work for me!

The salmon I had was just as delicious as it looked when I picked it from the store window, and because of that, I really savored it. My Weight Watchers leader constantly talks about always eating “the best of the best.” If you’re going to eat off plan or you’re going to splurge a little, she says that the food needs to be the best of the best. She says that there’s no reason to go off plan or splurge on something that you’re not really going to savor and enjoy. I kept that in mind with the salmon, and I do think it was the best of the best. It was absolutely worth it, and I’d go back and make the same decision again!


In my Christmas blog, I mentioned that my folks bought me a Fitbit. Today was my first day wearing it, and I was incredibly shocked (and dissatisfied!) by the results of that.

photo

I’ve only taken 2,510 steps today! Considering the fact that you’re supposed to take 10,000 steps every day, this is not good at all. I am really hoping that part of this number can be chalked up to the fact that it was cold and snowy today so I didn’t go walking with my dog this morning like I normally do. I know that I don’t take 10,000 steps every day, but I also know that I should be taking more than this number, too. Hopefully when the weather eases up again and my dog and I can go walking I’ll see some better results here. If not, I really have to get my butt in gear!


I really want to connect with as many of you as possible through Weight Watchers and Fitbit. I want us to be able to encourage each other through as many outlets as possible. Look for another blog post from me in a day or two about that! In the meantime, though, if you’d like to search for me within either of those sites, I can be found on Weight Watchers as Rachael9211, and my searchable Fitbit email address is myjourneyonedayatatime@gmail.com 😀


I wish you all a lovely week! I’ll write again a few more times before the new year rolls around (including an update after my 22nd birthday celebration on Sunday!), so look out for a few more posts from me.

Until then,

Eat well. Be well.

rachaelxoxo

4 thoughts on “281.0

  1. Way to go! Glad to see you had your salmon with no guilt 🙂

    The 10k a day is… well… how do I say this… humbug – it doesn’t really matter where the exercise comes from, as long as you’re active. There are no magic numbers to meet when it comes to walking or exercise, any is better than none!

    Every step taken is something to be proud of! And you’re taking a ton of great steps forward and keep on shedding those pounds, so don’t you worry and just continue on with a smile!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Another hard-fought pound lost, and your attitude shows that you really are in control here. Good for you. Every pound lost is a sign of success, another step towards becoming the person you want to be. Add all those pounds up and you get to over 37 pounds lost already. How wonderful is that! Well done you. Keep going, and …. never give up!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Merry (belated) Christmas + 241.2 (again, most likely) | My Journey–One Day at a Time

Leave a Reply

