22.

* Please enjoy this very cliche Taylor Swift moment celebrating the fact that I’m 22 today 😀 *


Now that that’s out of the way — hi, friends!

My day has been awesome so far, and I’ve done pretty well with my points. I had an 11PP breakfast and a 3PP lunch today, but, in spite of that, I have found myself nibbling for some reason! I had a couple of chips and a few bites of leftover brown rice from my dinner last night, all of which ended up costing me a meaningless 2PP for what I’m thinking was bored-eating. I caught myself, though, and I only ate a very small amount (which can’t be said for previous birthdays), so let’s just chalk that up as a win!

I’ve got 30PP left to finish out my day, and I think I should be just fine! My mom and dad bought a small ice cream cake from Cold Stone Creamery to celebrate my day, and because I do love ice cream, I’ve decided that I’m going to have a piece. One serving of the ice cream cake is 12PP. If I skip the spumoni I’d planned to eat at the Italian restaurant I’m going to tonight, I have enough points for the cake. My planned dinner budget consists of a 2PP “skinny” cocktail and then a 12PP spinach + cheese ravioli dish. That puts me at 14PP for the dinner + 12PP for the cake, which rounds it out to 26PP, which means I’ll actually have 4PP leftover for the day. The spumoni I was planning to eat at the restaurant is only worth 5PP, so technically I could also eat that and just dip into my weeklies for that one extra point, but I think I’m going to pass on it. My night is going to be filled with enough carbs and sugar without adding on more ice cream!


Yesterday I had a non-scale victory, and it was the best birthday gift I could’ve received, I think.

I don’t have a full-length mirror at home, so I don’t really get a chance to look at myself full-body, which is perhaps why I still have issues with acknowledging my weight loss. I was standing in line when I was out and about yesterday, though, and I caught sight of the reflection of my full-body profile in a store window. I actually had to do a double take when I saw it, because I look much, much, much thinner. When I stopped to reflect on that idea, I sort of laughed at myself. I’ve lost nearly 40 lbs. (37.2 lbs., to be exact) so of course I should look much thinner!

When I looked at my reflection, I actually thought I looked really good, which I don’t think I’ve ever been able to say in the course of my entire “adult” life.

My clothes didn’t look too tight (like they normally do), and I didn’t look like a whale or a stuffed sausage. What I noticed more than anything, though, is that I looked more confident. I wasn’t constantly fiddling with my clothes, making myself look just as out of place as I normally feel. I wasn’t looking down and avoiding eye contact. Yesterday, I was able to just be. I just looked like a normal, regular person for once! Yes, I obviously still look heavy, but let me tell you—281 lbs. looks a heck of a lot better on me than 318.2 lbs. does, and confidence looks pretty darn good on me, too!


Finally seeing my full reflection made me feel really good about myself, and for someone who’s spent the last decade or so feeling really, really uncomfortable in her own skin, that’s a big deal.

I’m just very, very happy to be turning 22 today because 22 is going to be a great year, guys—I just know it! 22 is going to be my year! During this 22nd year of my life, I want to just keep getting better and healthier and stronger. I want to continue to improve my life. I am determined to eventually see victory!

I feel an overwhelming sense of hope and excitement over what lies ahead for this next year of my life. One year from now, when I turn 23, I hope to be just a shadow of who I am today—which is really saying something since I’m very, very happy right now.

This birthday is going to be hard to top, but next year I’ll do it.

Just watch!


I hope you all are having a happy day.

I’m going to go dance around and be 22 now. ❤

Eat well. Be well.

rachaelxoxo

7 thoughts on “22.

  1. Happy birthday, Rachael. I hope you have a great day. And wow, what a fantastic treat seeing your reflection must have been. I’m really happy for you because I know you’ve earned that wonderful feeling, you’ve put in the effort and it’s a great reward, and I’m happy for you because I know that you’re right about your 23rd birthday. 2015 is going to be a fantastic year for you, I can tell.

    Enjoy all the good things that come your way today, Little Miss Confident 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your kind words and support! It means so much to me! I know that I would not be nearly as successful without the support and encouragement of all of my wonderful blogging friends, so thank YOU! ❤

      Like

  2. Happy Birthday, lovebug!

    I’ve been having similar personal discoveries lately… something about the 280-ish mark seems momentous, like my body looks more body-shaped instead of rounded/lumpy, and it’s just far enough away from 300 to make that feel like a distant (bad) memory. I also caught myself really looking at myself today at my husband’s grandmother’s house, in her full-length mirror! I don’t have one either, and I was really, honestly shocked at the way I looked – in a good way!

    Congratulations on your newfound confidence. As always, I am super proud of you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Alison! You’re the best! ❤

      That's what I noticed, too—my body actually has some shape now instead of just looking like a big, gigantic blob. And I agree about the 280-ish mark being far enough away from 300lbs. to feel comfortable saying you're on the other side! It feels so good to be here!

      I am so happy that you're seeing the same things with your own body as I'm seeing with mine! I am so, so proud of you!

      Xoxo.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Award. | My Journey–One Day at a Time

Leave a Reply

