22 (2).

Hi, friends!

So my birthday dinner went OK last night, but I definitely deviated from my plans.

We had to wait for about 35 minutes to get a table at the restaurant, and my family decided that we’d wait in the bar. They all had drinks, but I ordered an unsweetened iced tea with lemon because I was determined to keep my points down. Once we got to the table, I then ordered a water instead of the skinny cocktail I had originally planned to get because I didn’t really feel like having alcohol. I’m not sure why—I just didn’t.

Then my family decided that they wanted an appetizer—a plate of cheesy garlic bread with marinara dipping sauce. It looked so good, and I ended up giving in to temptation and having two small pieces and about 1 Tbsp. of marinara, which cost me 4PP.

When it came time to order the main entree, I stuck with my original plan and ordered the 12PP spinach + cheese ravioli. What I didn’t realize, though, is that all entrees apparently come with a choice of soup or salad, too. I picked the soup (because I didn’t know what came on the salad or what to do about the dressings), which ended up being a 3PP cup of minestrone. Once that was said and done and the ravioli got to the table, I was very mindful and conscientious of my eating. My Weight Watchers leader reminded me last Friday that there’s a difference between being stuffed and being satisfied (something I have a hard time differentiating between). She said to think of what I feel like when I’m “starving” and then keep that in mind while eating. Once those “starvation” symptoms abate, that means I’m satisfied. Keeping that in mind, I only ended up eating half of the ravioli instead of the whole plate! That knocked my PP total down to 6PP for that dish, and it rounded out to a total of 13PP including the bread and soup I ate.

Here’s where I made a questionable decision.

This restaurant is a very touristy place, and if you order a beer or an Italian cream soda, you get either a keepsake beer mug or a keepsake drinking glass to take home. I’ve come to this restaurant with my family for my birthday dinner every year since I was 1—every year, that is, except for my 21st. I used to suck down Italian cream sodas like nobody’s business, and my kitchen cabinet at home, I kid you not, is 80% made up of these keepsake glasses. It’s a quirky little thing about me that makes people laugh when they come to my house and reach for a glass in my kitchen. 😉 So, anyways, my dad told the waiter last night that it was my birthday and that I had to have a glass—it was tradition. I just wanted the glass sans-soda, but I ended up giving in and letting the waiter talk me into ordering a blackberry Italian cream soda “since I was paying for it anyways.” So there went another 4PP. The soda was so sweet that I could barely stand to drink it, but I did, and I was disappointed with myself for doing so. I sat there and drank something that I really didn’t care for just for the sake of doing it.

Not good.

This rounded out my PP total to 17, which was actually OK since I had budgeted 30PP for the night. At this point I had 12PP leftover, which was great since I’d decided I was going to have that 12PP piece of ice cream cake when I got home!

Wrong again.

Since my dad had told the waiter it was my birthday earlier, the whole staff came out singing and carrying spumoni once we’d finished our food. I love spumoni, so, once again, I gave in. However, I only ate 1/4 of it (which was only about 3 bites) before passing the cup over to my dad who then finished it off. The 1/4 serving tacked another 1PP on to my total, though, which brought me to a grand total of 18PP for the night.

I left the restaurant feeling stuffed—something I’d hoped not to do.

As I walked the block or so back to the parking garage with my family, my stomach immediately started to rebel. My mom was super concerned and said that I’d probably shocked my system with all of the food since I don’t eat like this anymore. I agreed. I felt super sick for the rest of the night. I skipped all after-dinner celebrations (including ice cream cake) and just went home and fell asleep around 8:30 PM.

I can’t decide what to think of this. On one hand, I’m proud of myself because I ate half of my main entree and only 1/4 of my dessert, and I ended the day with an excess of 12PP. On the other hand, I’m super disappointed that I drank that Italian cream soda when I didn’t even actually like it, and I’m disappointed that I allowed myself to eat until I was stuffed. I’m also not happy that I spent the remainder of my night feeling ill.

So was this one for the success category or one for the failure category? I’m not altogether sure… It’s probably middle of the road.

One thing’s for sure, though: I did much, much, much better on this birthday than on any of my previous birthdays, and that is definitely one for the success category!


I hope you’re having a wonderful week, friends. I’ll be back on NYE to talk about fitness and plans and goals for the new year and to say a blogging goodbye to 2014.

Until then.

Eat well. Be well.

rachaelxoxo

17 thoughts on “22 (2).

      • You are not that much older than my parents! My dad is 55 and my mom is 53! My actual grandparents are/were MUCH older than you! 😉

        My maternal grandfather would be 102 in 2015 if he were still with us, and my maternal grandmother would be turning 93 if she were still with us! And my paternal grandparents are in their mid/late 80s!

        But anywho!

        I’m proud of you, too! It’s never too late to lose weight! ❤

        Like

  1. I think you did well. I understand the feeling of disappointment, but I think it will honestly be one of those life moments that you will look back on and remember the way it felt. It will be a learning experience that you will carry with you when faced with temptations in the future.

    And the rebelling stomach! I hope it feels better now.

    As always, I’m proud of you. You went into this with a plan, which you were able to adjust on the fly. You didn’t totally give up or let go of your goals. You kept them in mind the whole time! That is a huge step!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much, Alison!

      I am feeling much better now, and I felt fine yesterday, too. It was just my birthday night that my stomach was unhappy with me! 😉

      Looking back at decisions I’ve made on birthdays years prior or even decisions made just a few months ago before I started WW, this is a DRASTIC improvement. I think I would’ve been fine (both physically and mentally) had I not had that Italian cream soda. I’m OK with going out to eat and whatnot—I get that it’s normal to eat foods that are sometimes not super healthy as long as you can keep yourself on target. I just get upset with myself when my indulgences are meaningless. Why eat/drink something that you don’t really like? Why waste points when you’re not really hungry? Etc. I stayed within my daily range, yes, but I could’ve cut things out and I would’ve been better off. Oh well. Live and learn! 🙂

      At least I’m finally at a point where one bad day or one or two bad decisions don’t ruin my whole week. I used to have the mentality that once I ate something “bad” it was all over—I might as well keep binging because the week was already ruined anyways! Now I know that everything is salvageable. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy belated birthday! You did well!

    I must admit, I snicker while reading the posts of people in weight watchers, since I have no clue what PP stands for, so as I read it I end up pronouncing it in my mind as “pee pee”, which gives a very… interesting twist to most posts! God do I feel immature now 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, friend! 🙂

      I just laughed, too! PP = PointsPlus. From now on, I’ll abbreviate it as P+ because I don’t think I’ll be able to write it without thinking “pee pee” either! Haha!

      In WW, everyone has a set number of PointsPlus every day—like a bank. The number of P+ you get is based on your height and weight. I, for example, now get 46P+ each day (I’m 5’8″ and weigh 281lbs.). When I started WW 4 months ago, I got 51P+ per day (I was still 5’8″, but I weighed 318.2lbs. at the time).

      I can eat whatever I want every day just as long as I don’t go over that 46P+ (there are exceptions to this idea of not going over, but I won’t bore you with the loopholes 😉 ). I have an app on my iPhone that lets me scan the barcodes on food or pull up a calculator to enter in nutritional information by hand. The P+ calculation factors in fat, carbs, protein, and fiber. Each food is assigned a P+ value based on that. Healthy foods are obviously lower in points, and unhealthy foods are higher in points. P+ is just one more form of counting. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I confess, I’m laughing. You did pretty well to be honest. Don’t think about it in terms of success or failure. Alison nailed it when she said it’s a learning experience. It’s another step along the road you’re on, and I’m sure it will influence how you think and reason as you continue your journey. Success or failure will be determined a long way in the future, and in your case I’m sure it will be success.

    Now, your birthday has gone, it’s history and you can’t change it. Today is another day, and so is tomorrow. Take each day as it comes, keep going, and never give up!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks! 🙂

      Now that I’m four days out from this little experience, I can look at it a little better. No, this wasn’t a “perfect” experience, but it was definitely not such a bad go of it either. And, yes, you and Alison are both right: it was a learning experience!

      I know now that my stomach isn’t the same anymore. I have to be more careful when I go out because of that.

      Oh well! All is fine now. I’m still determined to see victory!

      Thanks, as always, for your support!

      Like

  4. Happy birthday, Rachael. I have only skimmed this post, but will read it fully later. All I’ll say for now is that it is just one day of many in your life. I am sure you are back on track with the new morning.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks so much, Bobby!

    And yes, you’re right: it was just one day. I am so glad that I’m finally at the point in my journey where I understand that. When things went even a little awry in the past, I’d pretty much give up on the week altogether. I used to think that since “I already messed up” that nothing else mattered anyway. Now, thankfully, I realize that every day is an opportunity to be better! I am back on track. 🙂

    Tomorrow is my weigh-in day, however, and I’ll admit that I’m nervous. I did no exercise whatsoever this week because the temps were well into the negatives, thus meaning it was too cold to walk with my dog. No exercise AND more carbs and sugar then I normally consume in my diet probably doesn’t = weight loss.

    Who knows. We will see. 🙂

    Like

  6. Pingback: 279.2 | My Journey–One Day at a Time

Leave a Reply

