Progress/Evolution.

Hello, friends!

Yesterday was the start of week two of the 1,000 extra steps challenge. How are you all doing? Are you actively thinking more about the movement of your day? I know that I definitely am!

I’ve done really well meeting/exceeding my goal of 5K a day. I didn’t do so hot last Friday, but thinking back to weeks prior, the fact that my “worst” walking day was less than 1.5K away from my goal is a major improvement. In the weeks leading up to the challenge, there were several days that I didn’t even exceed 1.5K for the whole day.

So yeah. Things are definitely improving over here!

Here’s a more detailed look at how the challenge has gone for me so far:

photo

I am feeling really good about this, and I hope the rest of you are, too! This has been incredibly motivating for me, and I sincerely appreciate the fact that some of you chose to participate with me!

Just remember, the little changes do add up, so keep moving! We’re all going to make it to the finish line!

There’s no timeframe for weight loss. Just do your best to be healthy, and things will turn out exactly as they’re supposed to. 🙂


While my movement and activity has been very good this week, my eating has been a little off. I haven’t done anything too drastic, but it’s definitely not been up to par with my normal standards.

I went out to lunch on Friday at a new gyros place that just opened in town, and I had a greasy gyro and a diet Coke for lunch. I haven’t had soda in a very long time, so I’m not altogether sure why I drank one. I know that soda — even diet — is not at all good for you, but que sera sera. I did pass on the fries and falafel and baklava and all of that other stuff, but still… the lunch was not up to my usual standards.

Then, I stupidly followed that up with a Subway sandwich for dinner. It was late when I got home, I didn’t plan accordingly, and I thought that Subway was the lesser of all fast food evils.

Again, these were not great choices, but I hardly think they were the worst choices either.

Then, on Saturday, I had a few pieces of Papa Murphy’s Gourmet Veggie Delite Pizza for dinner. The rest of my day had been totally normal and on target with my typical healthy lifestyle, so the pizza was totally within my points budget, but it was probably not the best choice as a follow-up to my eating the previous day.

On Sunday, I had leftover pizza for breakfast (yikes!), which there is absolutely no excuse for, but I did it, so I’m copping to it.

Then I went to a luncheon, but the food served was actually super Weight Watchers friendly. We snacked on a fruit platter and had a homemade stir-fry that consisted of brown rice, freshly chopped veggies, and shrimp. I also stuck to drinking unsweetened iced tea with lemon the whole time, so that wasn’t too bad.

For dinner, though? I had a fast food salad that was, once again, completely within my points allowance, but it still obviously wasn’t the best choice.

However, yesterday, I finally saw the light at the end of the tunnel, and I managed to get my eating back on track! I drank tons of water and ate really well all day long — all of the food was home cooked and correctly portioned. However, I did eat two cookies for dessert last night that my dad had made over the weekend. They were coconut pecan cookies and were so good. The two cookies cost me 7P+, but, again, I tracked and it was totally within my allowance.

I have only used two of my weeklies thus far, and I haven’t touched any of my Active Points. Everything I ate this week was tracked, and I have absolutely stayed within my limitations. However, the quality of a lot of the food I’ve eaten this week has not been very good, and that is a little disappointing.

I have managed to eat like a “normal” person, though. There wasn’t any binging or overindulging, so I am taking some comfort in that.

I’m back to eating better quality food now, though, so hopefully the scale doesn’t turn on me on Friday. 😉


I started this blog because I wanted some extra accountability for myself, so I feel obligated to share both the good and the not-so-good choices I make with you, which is exactly why I decided to tell you guys about my less than stellar food choices this week.

My life isn’t perfect. My weight loss journey isn’t perfect. That’s OK, though, because I’m striving for progress, not perfection, and I am definitely progressing. “Bad” choices, for me, used to be 10 double cheeseburgers or 12 tacos or an entire box of donuts, not a diet Coke or a Subway sandwich or a fast food salad or two homemade cookies.

I’m OK with all of my choices, and I still think I’m doing well. This is part of the whole process of creating a sustainable lifestyle. I have to eat like this forever, and sometimes I’m going to eat Subway or have a cookie — that’s just the way it goes.

I’m learning to eat “normally,” and that’s super important to me.


I had planned to talk to you guys a little about longterm goals and weight loss rewards today, too, but this blog is way longer than I originally intended, so I’ll save those thoughts for another day.

I hope you’re all having a lovely week.

Eat well. Be well.

rachaelxoxo

19 thoughts on “Progress/Evolution.

  1. I totally understand what you mean about your “bad choices.” If WW has taught me anything at all it’s that making good decisions with your food is the most important part. Sure, you can eat 10 cookies and stay within your weekly points, but is eating 10 cookies really a good idea? How about a cup of strawberries and 1 cookie? I learned these lessons before in WW and wish they’d have stuck with me. I am relearning them all over again. Having only been back with the WW program for a couple weeks I can already tell that I’m learning good food decisions from bad ones, even if it’s not the most ideal food. That’s the important part. No longer will I allow myself to eat 10 pieces of pizza. There’s no point, especially when I stopped even feeling hungry after 2.

    Great job on making good “bad” choices. It really shows how much you have already changed about your life. Way to go!

    Great job on your steps too!! I’ve made my goal but hardly exceeded it. If I keep up with 3,500 this week and make it all 7 days I will try to up it to 4,000 and make that work. I need a stretch goal or I won’t be motivated. Lol

    Amber

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! It’s not just about staying within your points allowance. If the quality of the food you’re eating is not good, it doesn’t really matter that you’re within your allowance. Eating 10 cookies or chips + white bread every day isn’t going to help anybody. I love that WW tries to teach you this + I love that they encourage you to eat power foods!

      I’m also trying to control my overeating. I need to make myself understand what hunger is. Even after being on plan for 19 weeks, sometimes I still struggle with listening to my body. What is hunger? What does it mean to be satisfied? Those are things I ask myself daily. I can eat so much food, but hunger isn’t always why I choose to eat. These are all things that I have to think about!

      + You are doing so well with your steps, lady! I’m proud of you! Keep up the GREAT work! We all are such good motivation for one another. This has been fun so far! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve realized that I don’t even feel hungry after the first half of my meal is over, but I just love eating so I eat it all. I have decided to start with smaller portions and then eat that and only get more if I actually still feel hungry. I shouldn’t just eat because it’s there, I should eat because I’m hungry.

        We really are good motivation for each other! I am glad we became Fitbit friends. It’s good to have a little healthy competition 😉

        Amber

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great job! The hardest for me is not beating myself up after I have gotten off track. Your attitude is great! And, Subway is not terrible…after all, be proud of yourself that you chose a place that you have to walk in to order! Every calorie counts 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!

      I’m currently in the midst of week 19 of my journey, so keep that in mind! 😉 Learning to be OK with my decisions has been a long time coming. In the beginning, I thought it was the end of the world when I got off track.

      I had a 1.2 lb. gain at my week 4 weigh-in, + I really beat myself up about it. I’d gone to a luncheon 6 days before my weigh-in + had a salad that had Fritos + homemade sugar dressing + a bunch of other crap on it. I had more than one helping of it, + I came home + blogged about it + made mountains out of a molehill.

      Looking back now, I realize how stupid that was, + I also realize that the salad wasn’t responsible for the gain. In order to gain a pound, you have to consume ~3,500 calories ON TOP OF your normal calorie consumption + not burn any of it off. That one meal didn’t harm me that much — no way.

      I don’t know why I gained that week + I never will, but it wasn’t because of “bad” eating. It was probably water weight or a hormonal change. Ha!

      As you get further along in your journey, you’ll start to see off track eating for what it REALLY is. In the grand scheme of things, it’s not too big of a deal. Yes, we all need to work on making better, healthier choices, but the occasional not-so-good-for-you food is OK to eat! 🙂

      Like

  3. I know where you’re coming from with these choices! I have lately been on a Fiber One cookie bender, haha. By “bender,” I mean that I’ve been eating one a day and kind of panicked when I realized I didn’t have any the other day! Things bounce back, and I’m proud of you for making smarter choices in spite of not being totally prepared.

    Also, this walking challenge has been the best idea any of us has had in a while. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • One Fiber One cookie a day isn’t bad! Imagine yourself 6 months ago — would you have only eaten one cookie back then? I never would’ve!

      Thanks for the encouragement! 😉

      Like I said in the post, I don’t think the choices were the absolute worst, but they weren’t good choices either. I know the difference between the quality of food now, so I know I need to make some better choices! Which I have been doing + will continue to do! 😉

      And you’re welcome! Honestly, thank YOU. I seriously don’t know if I would’ve got up + got out + got my butt moving without the rest of you guys. It helps me to see everyone else making an effort! It makes me try harder! Ha! 🙂

      Like

  4. I made over 5000 yesterday and hit over 6000 today. A first. BUT I will gross all of you out with my food choice today.
    Warning: you know my food program is to eat half. At least I brought most of it home. The take home box is full of enough food for two more meals , but I do think I’ll freeze most of it for another time. There was no way I could even eat half.

    We went to a place to eat that we haven’t been in a very long time. They throw rolls at you. I did eat a half roll.

    I do think my food choice wins the worst for the day, but I only ate maybe 1/3 or 1/4?
    And I only ate a tiny supper to compensate I drink two bottles of water afterwards. And I walked 6404 steps on the beach . Yea for beach.
    Okay you all ready to be grossed out. I do love this food – only in the South and only served in two restaurants that I know of.
    Okay —drum roll please
    I ate some fried chicken gizzards for lunch!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear sweet Rachel,

      I am convicted this morning about my negative comment on your post. It was almost as I was bragging about having the worst food choice of the day. I am ashamed of my comment. You may delete if you wish. It won’t hurt my feelings.

      You have been very encouraging to me on my journey and I thank you. Because of you I am moving and due to my age and slight physical limitations it is very important that I move. So I thank you.

      Also I want to make a correction. My walk on the beach only resulted in 5800+ steps. The 6404 was at the end of the day.

      On a plus, because of you and your encouragement, I have already walked this morning and achieved over 5300 steps by 7:30am. Wow!

      Thank you my friend for you are making a difference in helping others get better.

      Lord, make Rachel’s day absolutely wonderful. Make her weight loss journey one of victory and all those connected with her too.
      I thank you for this wonderful encouraging friend that You have allowed me to become friends with. Bless her Lord in every way. Grant her the desires of her heart. Amen

      Love you. my friend

      (You may delete both my posts if you want to, it won’t hurt my feelings.)

      Liked by 1 person

      • I didn’t think you were bragging AT ALL! And in no way was I offended, so please don’t be ashamed! I actually thought it was quite funny! It made me giggle! 🙂

        My grandmother was from the south + ate all sorts of things like that when I was growing up. You made me think of her, which is always nice!

        Thank you so much for praying for me! And thank YOU for walking with me! I am so very proud of you! It means so much to me that you and the others decided to walk. It helps me and encourages me to know that other people are also walking! All of your participation encourages ME to get my butt moving!

        There are few things you could say that would upset or offend me, Deborah! We are all in this together + I know that everything said here is said with the best of intentions! 🙂

        Please don’t ever worry.

        I hope you have a wonderful day! It’s snowing here like nobody’s business, so I’ll have to walk indoors! I don’t know if I’ll get all my steps in, but I’m going to try! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh no!
        I’m sorry you are stuck inside. I wish i could send you a video of the beach yesterday. I plan on posting about it later.
        Since I’m in Lower Alabama, I would play in it until I was freezing. Due to my low thyroid, freezing inner temp, I can not move north.

        If you ever want to visit down south, let me know.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I have never been down to those parts! My grandmother was from Little Rock, AR. She met my grandfather there in 1939 when his military career landed him in Fort Smith. They married in April of 1940 + then my grandfather’s military travels took them all over the world. They settled here in Colorado in the late ’50s + this is where the majority of my family resides now. I visited AR with my grandmother when I was about 5, but I don’t remember much of it other than the fact that it was HOT + horribly humid! Ha!

        I’ve only been to the beach/seen the ocean twice in my life. I was 12 the first time I ever saw it. It’s so very beautiful!

        I will make my way down south someday! Right now, I think I’m still too big for air travel. When I lose my weight, though, I plan to travel! That’s the dream.

        I’ll look you up when I do + we can meet in real life! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. You’re doing a great job and by being here and sharing the ups AND the downs with us is incredibly brave. We’re all here to support you! I’m so sad I’m not able to keep up with the Walking Challenge right now but I’m definitely going to treat myself to a fitbit soon 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much!

      I just don’t ever want to come off as though I think this is all rainbows + butterflies — that’s why I think it’s important to share it all. I have done exceptionally well during my weigh-ins. In 20 weeks, I had 1 gain + 1 maintain — for the other 18 weigh-ins, I’ve lost weight! That doesn’t always happen for everyone, so I don’t want those that it doesn’t happen for to think that I have some magic answer since this is just the way it’s so happened to go for me. My food choices are not great all the time + sometimes I don’t exercise the way that I should. I haven’t been magically healed in 4.5 months! I’m still the same girl that struggles with the process sometimes! 😉

      I’m so sad you haven’t been able to walk with us, but it’s OK! Hopefully we can keep going with this (if others are still interested) + you can participate once you get your Fitbit! I am excited for you to get one — I have a lot of fun interacting with the other girls on there! It’ll be great when you can join in, too! 🙂

      Like

      • I totally agree with being 100% real on here with my good days and my bad days. I hate when people make it look so easy because they hide the truth. I’m here to share my journey, not hide from it! I can’t wait to join you all!

        Like

  6. Pingback: 274.2 | My Journey–One Day at a Time

Leave a Reply

