274.2

Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 1.19.15 PM Starting Weight: 318.2 lbs.
Weight Last Week: 276.2 lbs.
Current Weight: 274.2 lbs.
Weekly Change: –2.0 lbs.
Total Weight Lost: 44 lbs.


Hi, friends!

Today is a good day! Even in spite of the not-so-stellar food choices that I made at the beginning of this past week, I still managed to drop another 2 lbs.! That means that I’m now just 3.8 lbs. away from hitting my 15% target, and I’m also just 6 lbs. away from the big 5-0 loss! I am ecstatic!

The 1,000 extra steps challenge has been such a tremendous help to me. I know that the exercise must have helped me this week. I really think that it worked to offset some of the lower quality foods I ate. Had my activity level still been fairly sedentary (as it was prior to starting the challenge), I don’t think I’d have seen such a good loss this week.

So thank you, sincerely, to those of you participating with me! You are holding me accountable and making me get up off my butt and MOVE! 🙂

Truly, I have been so conscientious of my movement these past two weeks! I’ve never been the sort of person who enjoys exercise — honestly, it’s something I’ve always dreaded. Even when I was a kid, I never enjoyed gym class or organized sports. It’s always been a struggle for me to get myself moving. This week, however, I experienced something really cool. For the first time in my whole life, I experienced that “high” that people always talk about getting after working out!

On Tuesday, my puppy and I went out on a trail and walked 1.2 miles. The air was really brisk, and, overall, it was just a good day for walking. By the time we arrived back home, I felt fantastic. My body didn’t hurt, my muscles didn’t ache, I wasn’t worn out or short of breath… Nothing! I felt really, really good. I knew that my endorphins had probably kicked in, and the whole thing just put me in such a good mood!

I’m really lucky in the sense that I started this journey before my obesity could start to really wreak havoc on my body. I have been so fortunate because I have never suffered from any diseases or any serious obesity-related physical aliments. I’ve always been able to walk, for the most part, without pain or too much discomfort. However, I can’t ever remember a time — even during my childhood — in which I didn’t get extremely winded from the most basic movement.

44 lbs. ago, there were very few things I could accomplish without having to stop multiple times to take a break and try to catch my breath. Thinking of that makes me so sad. Why should anyone in their early twenties have ever had to take multiple breaks in order to regain their breath when trying to do the most basic tasks?

Oh well — that’s a thing of the past now, and it’s not something to dwell on! I’m so, so, so happy to say that I am faring much better these days! My breaks are few and far between now, and I don’t get so winded quite as easily!

I feel great!


In my last blog, I mentioned wanting to talk to you guys about longterm goals and weight loss rewards, so let’s do that now.

From the very get-go, there were two major things I decided to work towards goal/reward-wise: 1) a gym membership, which I promised to reward myself with after losing 70 lbs. (which equates to hitting a weight of 248.2 lbs.) and 2) swing dancing lessons, which I promised to sign up for as a reward and celebration for losing 100 lbs. (which will mean hitting a weight of 218.2 lbs.).

Over the past week or so, I started to reevaluate my goals and rewards a bit, though. Do you know what I decided that I want even more than a gym membership?

A bicycle.

I used to ride bikes all the time when I was a kid. One year for Christmas, my dad went to a bike shop and picked out a mountain bike for me and then had it custom painted. It was such a pretty bike, and I loved it. I gave it away about a year ago, though. It was too small for me, and I honestly never thought I’d ride again, so I gave it to my 14-year-old cousin. She wanted a bike to make her 1.5 mile trek to school a bit easier, so I thought maybe she’d show it the love that I’d stopped showing it years prior.

Now, though, I’d like to get another bike. I miss riding! I seriously do. I live about 3 miles away from a grocery store and tons of little shops. I could easily bike to and from there daily if I wanted to. I think it’d be such great exercise, and I truly think I’d enjoy it.

So I went to a bike shop and browsed a little bit, and I found one I liked. It’s a gorgeous townie bike, and it’s less than $500.

I’ve decided that I’m going to buy it once I reach my milestone of 70 lbs. lost. Honestly, I can join a gym whenever I feel the time is right, but losing 70 lbs. will be such an accomplishment, and I deserve to treat myself to something special that I really want, and that’s not a gym membership — it’s a bicycle! So that’s what I’m going to get myself!

The swing dancing lessons are definitely something I still want, though, so, as of now, that’s still on the table for the big 100 lbs. down reward.

Two smaller rewards that I’d like to purchase for myself as well (though I don’t know when!) are a new swim suit and a ticket to an amusement park! I stumbled upon the website Swimsuits for All, and I found this super cute suit. This is a purchase that I don’t think will have a particular number of pounds lost involved, though. I will buy this swim suit once I feel comfortable enough with my body to do so. It may not be this summer, but I will buy it sometime, even if that means also having to treat myself to a winter vacation so that I can wear it! 😉

As for the amusement park ticket… Well, I haven’t been to an amusement park since I was 14-years-old. For many years now, I’ve been too afraid to even try to go because I didn’t think I’d be able to fit in the seats, and that was an embarrassment I did not want to be publicly subjected to, so I just stopped going altogether. I think that I should definitely be able to fit in the seats about 40 lbs. from now, though (a weight of 234.2 lbs.)…

My hometown amusement park does a huge Halloween celebration every year, so if I’m down to that weight (or smaller!) by October 31st of this year, I’m going to go! I’m going to treat myself to a fun night of riding rides and doing all of the things I haven’t been able to do in 8 years! I’m going to go out and really, truly enjoy myself!


So that’s the plan, and that’s what’s going on.

What about you guys? What are you working towards? How are you celebrating your big milestones? Is there anything you feel that you’re being kept away from because of your weight that you desperately want to experience again (or even for the first time)?

I hope you all have an exceptionally lovely week.

Eat well. Be well.

rachaelxoxo

15 thoughts on “274.2

  1. Great job on the weight loss. Your challenge has stepped up my exercise too, and for that I thank you.

    I, too, gave up on amusement parks. A few years back I went to Cedar Point and suffered the humiliation of having to walk off the Blue Streak. I fully intend to go this year, and being the emotional softy I am, I’ll probably cry on the Blue Streak.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank YOU, Bobby! You’re doing so well on your journey, and you are a constant source of inspiration for me. I really appreciate it!

      I have never been to Cedar Point, but I hope to get out there someday! It is, after all, supposed to be the roller coaster capitol, so it’s a must-see! Once I get to goal, I plan on doing A LOT of traveling. I am so looking forward to it!

      I’m excited for you to go back to the scene of the crime and get back on the ride! That will be such an incredible experience. I’d cry too, I’m sure! I hope that whenever you do go that you have a wonderful time! I can’t wait to eventually hear about it! 🙂

      Like

      • I was talking to my daughter about going to CP this summer. She is also excited to go. She was with me for the Blue Streak experience and is looking forward to me getting back in the seat. I am thinking there will be a selfie involved too. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your rewards! I have also avoided amusement parks since about my senior year of high school when I weighed about 230. At 5’1″, I was pretty wide and didn’t quite fit in this one swing ride. The employees made a big production out of two of them trying to force the bar into place (it was seriously like less than an inch to go), all the while I was saying, “No, it’s ok! I’ll just get off!” It was mortifying. I had ridden a bunch of roller coasters that day and was fine, but this ride… it was a no-go. There were signs the whole way up to the gate warning about the height/weight limit, and I was right on the edge, so I decided to chance it. Never again!! It’s been nearly 12 years since I’ve set foot in an amusement park. BUT I told myself that when I get into the 220s, I will reward myself by going to Hersheypark (the scene of the crime!).

    I also love biking! I think that’s an awesome, awesome reward for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hate that people don’t seem to have any tact when it comes to situations like that. Sometimes it almost feels as though people enjoy making big scenes and, in turn, enjoy making others horribly uncomfortable. I’m sorry that that happened to you! I’m sure it was very embarrassing! That’s what I’ve been trying to avoid — I know that I’m too big, even now! I’m sure it’d be a terrible scene if I tried to go to an amusement park at my current weight. We’ll get there, though! We’ll both be back riding rides soon enough! 🙂

      I’m excited to get back on a bike! I forgot how much I enjoyed it until my puppy and I started walking on trails and I started to see others riding! Hopefully it’ll be great motivation to continue being more active. When I was browsing the shop, I also saw that they have some decent-sized baskets that can be attached above the back tire (adult looking ones — not the little flower baskets you tend to see on kids’ bikes, ha! 😉 ), and I was thinking that I could maybe get a basket, too, and then I could do some light grocery shopping on my bike! I live really close to a grocery store, and I think I could definitely do some shopping that way occasionally! 🙂

      Like

  3. It’s an awesome reward for you, the bike that is (all the others too of course) – instead of the gym membership. Let’s face it, what would you do at the gym? Ride a stationary? Run on the treadmill? Take zumba classes? – Probably high intensity cardiovascular exercise you can be doing with your feet on the pavement or your butt on the bike saddle. You have the whole rest of the world to do that, with a lot prettier scenery to boot!

    I think the gym is overrated for many that go there, they only tend to go to be able to say that they went to the gym – a staple in a healthy lifestyle, right? Eh, everything you do at the gym can be done at home or outside, unless you’re planning to be a competitive bodybuilder or bikini fitness model – which if you are, then take the gym for sure! but if not… well it’s just a waste of money. Well… a waste is a harsh word since you would get something in return, but when comparing the two – bike or gym – I think bike wins every time as a spending decision.

    I don’t think you’re that interested in building muscles, but if you do want to tone up and train those muscles (which I think is a great idea by the way, especially for women as osteoporosis is a very, very real future aspect) I’d highly recommend body weight exercises – they do get the job done and they cost you nothing but time and effort, no need to bring money into the equation.

    Great job with the weight loss and keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, friend!

      The whole reason that I decided a gym membership was going to be a reward in the first place is because the gym is someplace I’ve never felt that I could go. I’ve been teased about my weight since I was a kid, and I have massive insecurities about it still. Even though I’m doing really well and consistently losing weight, I still feel as though other people can’t see that. I don’t know if people who aren’t going through something like this — a MAJOR lifestyle change and a MASSIVE weight loss journey — can understand how hard it is or how much work, both mental and physical, this involves. I don’t want to walk into a gym and be made fun of. I don’t want someone’s comments to derail my progress. Yes, I know that I’m supposed to be in control and that others can only hurt me if I choose to let them, but I know that, honestly, I’m probably still at a point right now that I’d indeed let them ruin things for me, and that just CANNOT happen.

      I wanted a gym membership once I achieved a 70 lb. loss because 1) if someone DID say something to me, I could turn around and say, Hey! I’ve already lost 70 lbs.! You have no idea what I’m capable of or how far I’ve come, so shut it! and 2) I’d also be UNDER 250 lbs., which seems to be a magic number in my mind for some reason. Since the very beginning, I guess that’s sort of been some kind of target for me. It’s important that I be UNDER that weight for some reason. I don’t know why!

      And actually, I really DO want to tone and build my muscles. I’ve suddenly become very worried about the prospect of loose skin! By the time I get to goal, I’ll have lost over 150 lbs., so I know that my skin is going to be loose — that’s the reality of weight loss. However, I’d really like to do everything I can to tone as much as possible now so that my skin maybe isn’t quite so bad at the end. Do you have any recommendations for what I can do at home? My arms are a HUGE problem area for me, and I can also see my stomach area being a problem down the road as I continue to lose. What do you think I should maybe be doing right now?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Considering you’re probably not interested in buying a lot of equipment or weights… (though I’d recommend a simple set of dumbbells for bicep curls and tricep extensions, at least)

        The best ways to tone up in this case is… bodyweight exercises, I’d recommend getting acquainted with the kings (or queens) of bodyweight exercises, as in, push-ups, pull-ups, crunches and squats. That’s for muscles, but in case of toning I’d also look into just pure home pilates workouts (type that into youtube, you’ll find a bunch, all you’ll need is a towel on the floor and some willingness to look silly) and some beginner yoga workouts (again, youtube will give you a buuunch of different beginner yoga workouts with that search)

        They’re all great for toning up and strengthening your core muscles and the stronger your core, the less chance of injury is if you ever decide to go pick up a barbell at the gym.

        The thing with loose skin is, it is inevitable for us that are well, full blown obese, I’ll have it, you’ll have it, that girl over there will have it, but it will be worth it.

        BUT that having been said, there are very simple ways to minimize it from the get-go, the best is… lose weight slowly, slowly but surely to let the skin adjust. It will take you longer to reach your goals, but the change will be permanent and no need for expensive surgeries later – this is especially true for the young ones such as yourself, your skin is still healthy and vibrant, it can expand and shrink on command. We’re a nation of instant gratification though, we want it now so that’s probably out of the picture completely, at least it is for me. Who wants to lose weight 0.2-0.5lbs a week? Though knowing this, those weeks when you will drop less than you usually do won’t seem that bad!

        Other tips are to moisturize daily and drink a lot of water. A LOT, of water. Very important for your skin, your health, but also to allow yourself to not have as much loose skin at the last steps of journey.

        And the most important tip… hope that your genes are good. Since that’s where it all will boil down to once everything has been said and done. Your genes will decide if you will have loose skin and how much, we’re all individuals after all.

        P.S – Others will instantly see the change in you, even if they don’t know you – as long as you radiate it outwards with a smile and a confident look. Keep your head held high and eyes forward. You matter, you’re worth it, believe it and know it!

        Like

  4. I love that bikini! I’ve never worn one but I know we will both be there soon! You are doing great and definitely inspire me! As for my rewards, I am going to get a pedicure today since I hit 5 lbs!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Isn’t it so cute? I love it! I really like that it’s very high-waisted! I need that extra tummy control, and thanks to the prospect of loose skin, I think I’ll probably always need a little extra support there. :/

      I’ve never worn a bikini either! I did wear a tankini a few times when I was 12/13 or so, but it wasn’t the same. The bottom was a skirt and came down a fairly decent way + the bottom of the top lined right up with the top of the skirt, so it showed basically no skin. I want to wear a real bikini, and I want to feel GOOD doing so! 🙂

      Thank you so much for saying that I inspire you. That sincerely humbles me. I appreciate your support so much!

      I think you are doing SO GREAT, and that pedicure was very well-deserved!

      Keep up the great work — we’ve both got to keep working on our bikini bodies! Ha! 😀

      Like

  5. Dear Rachel

    All those goals are just ahead for you. They will be there before you know it.
    Advice, make sure the bike has good brakes. In 2011, I bought a bike from a garage sale thinking I would get in shape. I got in shape alright, with seven screws, a plate in my leg, and two months in a wheelchair. That’s why I carry a pink cane when I go walking, old injury. But you are younger and smarter than to buy a bike with bad brakes.
    Oh, I LOVE THE SWIMSUIT, love it, love it love it!!!
    And swing dance, what fun. You go girl! Your victory is just ahead!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Deborah! I always, always, always appreciate your support and kindness! ❤

      And oh no! That's HORRIBLE! I'm so sorry that that happened to you! That sounds just awful! I will definitely make sure to get a good one! I went to a bike shop to browse, so I'm hoping that the salespeople there are trustworthy and won't let me leave with something that'll cause harm to me… I'll probably ask my dad to come with me, though, just in case! He's pretty savvy and I trust his opinion, so I think he'll make sure I walk out having picked the right one! 🙂

      And me too! Isn't it so cute?! I like that it's high-waisted and has a sort of vintage feel to it. I also like that I'll be able to say that my very first bikini was an itsy bitsy teeny weeny polka dot bikini! It's not yellow, but it'll do! 😉

      I think swing dance will be very fun! I love that sort of music! I don't think it's possible to be upset when listening to big band music! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Congrats on the loss! I also felt the same way about amusement parks. I had to squeeze and suck in just to fit right so I’ve had a fear of going back since high school. I hope to head to Cedar Point this summer knowing I can finally fit just fine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

