Award.

sisterhood

Hello, friends!

I am so very honored and humbled by the fact that the lovely Aubrie over at My Extreme Weight Loss Journey nominated me for a blogging award — my very first! Thank you so much, Aubrie! I appreciate your kindness and constant support so very much.

It’s an honor and a privilege to share my journey with all of you, and knowing that there’s even the slightest bit of interest in what I have to say about weight loss is incredible. All of you mean a lot to me.

If you’ve never checked out Aubrie’s blog, please do so! She’s a fellow Weight Watchers member with a lot of inspiring words to share.


In accepting this award, I’ve been given a list of questions to respond to, so here’s a little rachaelxoxo Q+A for you! My own blogger nominations can also be found at the bottom of this post. ❤


In one word, how would you like your readers to describe your blog?

Relatable.

I’ve been overweight since I was a little girl. As a result of that, there have been very few moments in my life in which I wasn’t the largest person in the room. Being overweight/obese is so isolating. I truly can’t even begin to describe how alone I used to feel. If you’re not overweight/obese yourself, you can sympathize with someone, but you can’t empathize with someone, and that’s heartbreaking.

Here on my blog, I share the good, the bad, the ugly, the failures, the successes, and everything in between with my readers. I do that because I don’t want other people to feel alone in their journeys — I don’t want them to feel the way that I felt for essentially the entirety of my young life.

My goal is to relate with all of you. I want you to know that we’re all in this together.

Which is your most favorite among your blog posts? Why? 

I’d have to say it’s a tie between Christmas and 22.

Prior to Christmas 2014, I sort of felt that my family was only kind-of-sort-of on board and supportive of my weight loss journey. There were times when I felt as though I was being sabotaged, and that was hard to deal with. My friends and family really pulled through for me on Christmas, though. The gifts that they gave me and the meals we shared together were their way of giving me 100% of their support, and that meant more to me than I can say, but I tried to capture the essence in my Christmas blog.

22 is also a favorite because this birthday was such a happy one, and not all of my birthdays have been happy. On the day of my 22nd birthday, I felt an almost indescribable amount of hope for the coming year. It was incredible, and I really think I captured the emotions in my 22 blog post.

What/Who inspires most of your blog posts?

The day-to-day monotony of life is what I draw inspiration from. Maybe I’m struggling with food choices or maybe I’m struggling to pull myself up off of the couch and work on increasing my activity level. Maybe I’m nervous about clothes shopping and I’m unsure of what to do with my changing body. Or perhaps it’s a weigh-in day and I experienced a great loss, or maybe I was particularly proud of myself for walking that mile or climbing those stairs or choosing water over wine.

I write about the little things. I write about the things that we all experience.

What do you aspire to accomplish this year?

I want to do everything within my power to become a better, healthier, and happier person. Yes, weight loss is tied in with that, but more than anything, I just want to learn how to live a more fulfilling life. I want to get back to doing things I love like riding roller coasters and getting on airplanes to see the world, and weight loss is tied to that. I also want to continue to choose to eat better food so that I can treat my body like the temple that it is. I want to go hiking and biking and go on long walks with my puppy. I want to live up to my full potential.

What do you aspire to learn this year?

I want to continue to learn how to create a truly sustainable healthy lifestyle. The last thing that I ever want to do is gain back my weight and end up back at 300+ lbs., but I know that that’s what happens to many people, and I know that that’s because along the way they don’t create a maintainable lifestyle. I don’t want that to happen to me.

What is your most favorite book? Why?

My favorite book is The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom because it reminds me that our lives are so very significant. Our choices impact others on a daily basis — even the smallest of things can have a long-lasting effect on someone. Everyone has a purpose and a lesson to teach, and I think it’s important that we always remember that.

What’s the most courageous thing you’ve ever done?

I walked away from a person that I loved very, very, very much, and I did that because I knew that the toxicity of those feelings were drowning me.

Unrequited love is a funny thing.

If you can be a superhero, what is your super power?

I’m the sort of woman who always seems to be wrapped up in the possibilities that lie ahead; I’m obsessed with thoughts of the future. Most days, I seem to constantly be 5 steps ahead of myself, so I think that I’d like the power of premonition!

Who is your female role model?

My grandmother was a very, very special lady — she was the best woman I ever knew. There hasn’t been a day that I haven’t thought of her over the past 9 years; I miss her dearly. I definitely try to model my heart after hers, but I know that I’ve still got some work to do in that department.


Now, for other nominees, this is what you do:

  • thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site
  • put the award logo on your blog
  • answer the ten questions sent to you (the same questions above)
  • nominate seven blogs

My Seven Nominees:

1. Journey to After (Alison)
2. Talking to My Weight Loss Counselor — God! (Deborah)
3. Weighing in on weighing in (B)
4. Mama Ames Gets Healthy! (Amy)
5. Destination Slim (Bex)
6. She’s Blossoming (Jo)
7. Dangerous Curves Ahead (Sondra)

I’d like to sincerely thank all of you ladies for inspiring me! ❤

rachaelxoxo

5 thoughts on “Award.

  1. LOVE this. You are extremely welcome!

    You are probably one of the most relatable bloggers I have found on here. While reading a lot of your posts, I find myself saying, “exactly how I feel!”. I like how you post “the good, the bad, and the uglies” because weight loss isn’t all good. There ARE days where it is extremely tough to get up off the couch… I know I’ve had them, and it’s nice to know that there are others going and dealing with the same thing.

    So really, I should be the one thanking you! Thank you for being here and thank you for putting your heart and soul on the net for all of us to read. You, my dear, are VERY inspiring to me. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much AGAIN!

      It thrills me to know that you find me relatable! That makes me incredibly happy — seriously.

      It just sucks so bad to feel like you’re the only one in the world to do something or go through something. I still even feel that way sometimes, but then I come on here and put it out there and I get tons of people saying, “Me too! Me too!” and suddenly I feel OK again.

      That’s my favorite part of blogging: relating to others!

      You’re the best, Aubrie! Thanks for being here with me and for always offering inspiration and support! ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Rachel, I want to thank you for being an inspiration to all of us.

    At age 22, you are making a “real difference” in the world and showing forth the way of hope to all of us.

    As you come through each event victorious, you allow us to be a part of it. As you face (and overcome) each difficulty, you allow us to be a part of it. For this I thank you.

    I so appreciate you allowing me to be a part of your journey. Thank you for your encouragement. I have become emotionally involved with you (in a “grandmother” way). I am so proud of you, girl.

    Keep on walking in this journey of yours, one day at a time for your victory is just ahead. See it. May God richly bless you and yours. May He grant you the desires of your heart.

    Thank you so much, Deborah

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Deborah! I am so flattered that you feel that way and that you have such a nice opinion of my blog!

      You are such an incredible lady, and I am SO THANKFUL that I met you! You are an amazing inspiration to me, and you are also a huge support system for me, as well. I appreciate your kind and thoughtful words so much, and I’m very glad that you have decided to walk along this path with me!

      I am so proud of YOU and all that you’ve done! Thanks for sharing your story and always doing your best to help motivate me! You’re truly amazing! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

