Drag.

Hi, friends!

Today is the start of week three of the 1,000 extra steps challenge, and I’ve been dragging my feet since Saturday. Hopefully the rest of you are faring a bit better!

My goal, as you all likely know by now, was to get in a minimum of 5,000 steps per day. On most days, I have been trying to get in 6,000 steps per day, and I’ve been pretty successful. On Saturday, however, I only just managed to make my 5K goal — coming in at 5,035 steps, I just made it by the skin of my teeth! Yesterday, I ended up getting in 5,460 steps, which was better, but still not quite where I wanted to be.

It’s close to noon currently here in my neck of the woods, and, sadly, I’m still under 1K for the day. I’m planning to go for a walk later which should drastically increase my steps, but it’s definitely slow going today.

I’ve been called for jury duty tomorrow, and I know that that’s also likely going to put a damper on my activity level. If you’ve ever been summoned before, you likely know that the process entails a long day of hurry up and wait. Even though I’m only 22, I’ve already been called and selected to serve on a jury before. I was called for the first time when I was 19, and I was selected to sit on a 15-person jury during a first degree murder trial. The trial lasted over a month, and it was one of the worst experiences of my life. Although I know that jury duty is a civic obligation, that first experience really soured the whole process for me, so I’m hoping that I’m not called to actually serve again tomorrow, but that’s some pretty big wishful thinking on my part.

In Denver county, they only call jurors on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday. Last time I was called, I was told that if you’re summoned on a Monday or Tuesday you’re basically guaranteed to be selected for consideration. The day that you’re most likely to be dismissed is Wednesday. What bad luck, right?!

Regardless, I’m hoping I can still get in a little walking tomorrow, and hopefully I can also make good choices food-wise since I’m most likely going to be stuck with crappy cafeteria food or fast food.

Wish me luck!


I’ve been thinking long and hard about walking lately, and I decided that this year I’m really going to try to step outside of my comfort zone exercise-wise. I have a bad knee, so running is out for me, but thanks to this extra steps challenge, I’ve discovered that walking is something that I can do, and it’s also something I actually like to do.

I really enjoy walking with my dog, so I decided to investigate some dog walking opportunities that we can maybe participate in this year.

The Denver Dumb Friends League (a local no-kill animal shelter) holds an annual 2-mile charity walk called the Furry Scurry on the first Saturday in May. I’ve decided that we’re going to do it this year, and I’ve already looked up registration. It should be a fun experience!

I also discovered that the Denver Turkey Trot allows you to walk with your dog if you’re willing to be one of the last to start. Thanksgiving is a long way off at the moment, but it’s something I’m definitely interested in potentially pursuing. It’s a 4-mile walk, but we’ve got lots of time to train for that.


I’ve been trying to do some work on my arms (strengthening and toning, etc.) for the past week or so, and yesterday I somehow managed to injure myself. My right arm was extremely sore yesterday evening, but I was hoping it was just the “normal” soreness and muscle fatigue associated with starting a new routine.

I was sadly mistaken, though, which I figured out after waking up numerous times throughout the night in horrendous pain. I’ve been taking 800 mg. of ibuprofen every few hours and I’ve wrapped my arm in an Ace bandage, but I’m sure I’ll need to see a doctor within the next couple of days to figure out exactly what I’ve done. Hopefully it’s not too serious.


Anywho. That’s what’s going on.

I hope you’re all having a lovely week, and good luck getting those extra steps in!

Eat well. Be well.

rachaelxoxo

12 thoughts on “Drag.

  1. Stay strong, my friend. You can also try walking in place, like when you’re cooking or what have you. I started doing that for fun a few days ago and it adds up almost 4000 steps to my day – that i wouldn’t otherwise take-, just lightly jogging in place or around the house while the food cooks itself 🙂

    Is the pain around your elbow? Or your wrist? Also… 800mg of ibuprofein every few hours? Wow… my dad in his later years went through spinal surgery and he ate 800mg of ibuprofein 3 times a day for the pain… It’s really bad for you in the long run, it will completely mess up your stomach, especially with those doses!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s my plan! I’m going to take my dog on a walk this afternoon and then pace my kitchen when I’m cooking dinner! 😉

      The pain is in my upper arm — the whole area between my elbow and shoulder! I’ve been taking ibuprofen like candy since I was a kid. Ha! My doctor had me taking 400 mg. 3x a day when I was 11 due to a knee injury. When I was 14, I messed up my right knee beyond repair and I also broke my right ankle and 5 bones in my right foot all in one blow. Vicodin and Percocet made me extremely ill, so I ended up taking between 900 and 1,000 mg. of ibuprofen every 4-6 hours for about 3 months. My knee has given me pain ever since, so I take ibuprofen daily now, but usually one dosage (when I wake up) is sufficient enough. I’ve been taking more since last night, though — about every 5-6 hours. I need to see a doctor, and I will. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry to hear about the jury duty and your arm. I hope you feel better! That Furry Scurry walk sounds fun! My dogs practically tear my arm off every time I take them on a walk and stop every two seconds. I wish I could make them behave! Be proud of your steps and activity! You’re doing great!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Hopefully the arm AND the jury duty won’t be too much trouble for me! 😉

      My puppy is 9-months-old, so he’s easy for me to control right now! Luckily I started him young! Ha! If I had more than one dog, I don’t think I’d be able to control them both!

      Thanks for the encouragement about the steps, too! I’m doing as well as I am all thanks to you guys! 😀 ❤

      Like

  3. You are doing great, keep us posted on your arm. It’s amazing to me that one so young has dealt with that much pain.
    I’ve done well with steps until yesterday when I had over 3000. On Sundays, we go to church twice, go out to eat twice, and if we’re able get a nap in between.
    Today, I’m laying all the way back in the Lazy Boy, with only approx 4400 steps.
    But right now, I’m not sure I care. Sigh. Last Wednesday I got over 10,000 steps. Instead of celebrating I took two Alieve and went to bed. My back has been hurting ever sense. Ahhh!
    My mother had 5 back surgeries and she was never without pain. After watching Mother suffer I have always told the hubby “if I ever get back trouble , just shoot me. ”
    Well, I’m hurting now, and it’s now in the back of my neck.
    I’m thinking that if I baby myself, this old body will just heal without doctors, etc . It is true “Getting old ain’t for whimps”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your concern, Deborah! I most certainly will keep you guys up-to-date! 🙂

      My injuries were NOT caused by my weight, though they have certainly always been exacerbated by it. I was badly hurt when I was 14, at my 8th grade Valentine’s Day dance, believe it or not! I had to be rushed out by ambulance. It was very painful and very terrifying. I was heavily drugged by the paramedics and then again once I arrived at the ER, so now, 8 years later, I have a hard time remembering the specifics, but because my knee has dislocated and been prone to injury many, many times since then, I certainly recall what the pain was like!

      I could probably due with cutting back a bit on the ibuprofen. I am hoping that perhaps my pain will decrease as my weight continues to drop! I’m sure my knee would fare much better if it didn’t have to support so much weight!

      I am so sorry that you’re back is bothering you! Please rest and do not overexert yourself further! No silly steps challenge is worth injuring yourself over! It’s absolutely fine to give yourself a break! It’s better to listen to your body now rather than encounter bigger problems later!

      I hope you feel better soon, Deborah! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rachel, you are so precious. My body is just too old and too many years of my abuse to it. Too many years of total inactivity, too many years of eating myself into oblivion and then sleeping it off on the sofa. My injuries today is the result of too many years of obesity and inactivity, except for getting up to go back to the kitchen. LOL!
        I’m so proud of you young girls deciding to make a positive change in your lives now while you are young. When I read of your victories it makes me happy. I say yea! Proud of you, because I am. Thank you for letting me share in your journey. Took two more Alieve and now in bed, but still reading your blog comments. Thank you

        Like

  4. Pace the juror room for sure, and walk in place. I like that suggestion.

    I did very poorly on the weekend with the challenge. I will post an update tonight. But, with Monday morning I was back and better than ever.

    Like

  5. Pingback: 273.8 | My Journey–One Day at a Time

Leave a Reply

