271.2

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 12.18.55 PM

Starting Weight: 318.2 lbs.
Weight Last Week: 270.6 lbs.
Current Weight: 271.2 lbs.
Weekly Change: +0.6 lbs.
Total Weight Lost: 47 lbs.


Good afternoon, friends!

As you can see, I experienced a small gain this week, and I’m not going to lie to you… I feel somewhat discouraged. I realize that a 0.6 lb. gain is not that big of a deal in the grand scheme of things, but, nevertheless, these past few weeks have been very disappointing.

I haven’t veered off track with my eating whatsoever. I’ve stayed within my limits and done exactly what I was supposed to do. I think that that’s why I’m so disappointed and somewhat discouraged, to be honest. If I was eating crappy food or overeating, it’d be easier to accept these minuscule losses and this tiny gain, but, for all intents and purposes, I’ve done exceptionally well, yet that’s just not being reflected on the scale!

Since starting the 1,000 Extra Steps Challenge back on January 12th, I’ve actually stalled a bit in my weight loss journey. I’ve lost a total of 5.4 lbs. over the course of the step challenge. That is very disappointing. I actually lost more weight (a total of 8.6 lbs.) between Thanksgiving and Christmas when I ate holiday food and did absolutely no exercising!

Go figure.

I sat on my butt and ate more food than normal, yet I managed to lose more weight then when I went out and constantly made an effort to move and be more active and eat on target.

I don’t understand it, but it is what it is.

So, yes, I’m disappointed, but I’ll get over it and I’ll continue on. I’m still determined to get to the finish line, and the time that it takes me to do that is irrelevant.

Fake it ’til ya make it, right?!

Here are the facts:
I’ve missed both my 15% target and my big 50 lb. loss again this week, and I’m still stuck in the 270s.

But it’s OK!

I’m going to get there! I’m not sure when, but I definitely will!


The first leg of the 1,000 Extra Steps Challenge ended yesterday, February 12th, 2015, and I did very, very well! My goal was to take a minimum of 5,000 steps per day, and I managed to meet or exceed that goal every single day but two: January 16th and February 8th.

Here’s a look at my month:
photo

image

image

image

I managed to take a total of 203,573 steps throughout the course of the challenge, which equals out to about 96.4 miles, and I’m very proud of this accomplishment! I feel good about what I managed to do here–disappointing weight loss aside. 😉

I had a pretty lackluster day on Sunday, February 8th, 2015, but there were far more pressing issues at hand then my fitness endeavors. I had an absolute (stress-induced) meltdown that day, and walking was definitely pushed to the back burner. Thankfully, though, I managed to make up for it in the days that followed!


What about the rest of you? How did the challenge end up working for you? Did you surprise yourself? Was it exciting, frustrating, a little all over the place?

Bobby was kind enough to share his total step count and total weight loss with me, but he’s the only one I’ve heard from thus far! If possible, I’d like to hear totals from the rest of you, too, and then I can add all of our steps and weight loss totals together and we can see what we accomplished as a group!

I have high hopes!


Don’t forget, if you’re interested in walking with me for another month, the second leg of the challenge starts up this Monday, February 16th, 2015, and we will be walking until Monday, March 16th, 2015.

I had originally planned to adjust my goal upwards to 6.5K a day, but I’ve decided that that’s probably too small of an adjustment, so I’m just going to take the leap and increase my daily step goal to 7K per day. I’m hoping that that’ll be doable!


So, if you participated in this first leg of the challenge, I want to say a huge congratulations to you for finishing, and I’d also like to say a big thank you, as well! The reason that my activity has increased so drastically is because of you guys! It means the world to me that some of you chose to literally walk this leg of my journey with me. I am so thankful for you and to you! ❤

If possible, please get me your total step count and your total weight loss over the duration of the challenge sometime this weekend so that I can tally our counts as one big group.


I hope that many of you will consider walking with me again! If you have a Fitbit, visit me here and we can encourage each other and challenge each other to get those steps in!

As a sidenote, too, I’d like to sincerely apologize for the fact that I have not been diligently reading and commenting on all of your blogs for the past couple of weeks. I’m under a lot of stress right now, and things aren’t going so great for me time management-wise. I missed a semi-important deadline over the weekend, and my university courses are very, very challenging this semester. I’m having some trouble finding balance right now, and although I’m still updating my own blog, I’ve let my reading and conversations with you guys fall to the wayside a bit, and I feel badly about that.

Please know that I’m going to make every effort to get back with you guys this week. I promise to catch up on my reading and just catch up with all of you in general! I can’t wait to see what you’ve been up to!

I hope you all have a wonderful week.

Eat well. Be well.

rachaelxoxo

23 thoughts on “271.2

  1. Don’t beat yourself up over an apparent small gain. Your weight varies from day to day anyway. If you were to weigh yourself again tomorrow, who knows, you might get a different result. Take heart instead from the cumulative result of all your efforts, because that’s where the *real* story is, and we both know that you’re doing great.

    Sure, you’re going to be disappointed because you had a gain. We all get that. That’s okay, be disappointed. But don’t read too much into it. That 15% and big five-oh are just over there, so get get ’em, give ’em hell, and when you do it’s going to be all the more satisfying. One good push this week, that’s all it will take, and you *know* you can crack that.

    I can’t wait till next week when you bounce back from this.

    Keep going, Rachael, keep going and never, never, never give up 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I know how discouraging it can be to put in the work and not reap the benefits! When this happens to me, I try to think of non-scale changes, or focus on positive thinking. I’m sorry you’re stressed out, and I hope everything improves!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much, Brittany! I appreciate your support so much! ❤

      How did you end up faring in the 1,000 Extra Steps Challenge? I am sorry I haven't had a chance to catch up with you until now! I'll be heading over to your blog soon to see what you've been up to! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You might find you’ve lost some inches rather than pounds this week – or built up some muscle with all that extra walking! I gained weight when I did a short course of regular running and got very discouraged, but I was definitely breathing more easily so must have been fitter. Your journey is longer than a weekly weigh in, you’re getting there – and you’re doing great! Keep going!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thanks so much for the kind words, friend! I appreciate your support so much!

      I need to start taking measurements of myself. When I started my journey, I weighed 318.2 lbs., and I didn’t take measurements because I was too big to effectively measure myself. I couldn’t bend in certain ways and couldn’t get the job done. Now I’m pretty sure that I can successfully take my numbers down, though, so I need to actually do it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Rachael, just to put your small gain into context, consider the following.

    I’ve been dieting for 136 days and I weigh myself every day. Throughout that time I’ve maintained my discipline and never cheated, not even in one small way. It’s obvious to me that the graph of my daily weight isn’t a straight line but is made up of many tiny ups and downs. Those ups and downs still show an overall downward trend which is reflected by my cumulative loss, but take any short period within that graph — a single week, for example — and those ups and downs become far more significant.

    For the 130 days since I clocked up my first week and for which therefore a comparison can be made, I compared each daily reading with the one 7 days before — one week earlier. How many days out of 130 do you imagine that my weight was higher than the same day one week earlier, even though I’d maintained my discipline throughout and my weight is falling? The answer is 19. On 19 days out of 130 my weight was higher than it had been one week earlier. That’s about one in seven. Coincidentally, in my case, five of those occurred on my weekly weigh-in day, so that’s five out of nineteen so far, or about a quarter!

    Of course, that’s my graph not yours, and my diet and not yours, and my body and not yours, and the numbers for you might be different. But the same principle applies. Some days you just happen to weigh more than you did a week earlier, even when you’re full-on and successfully losing weight, as you so obviously are.

    On my graph the gain on those 19 days ranged from 0.25 pounds up to 2.0 pounds! (My scales work in 0.25 pound increments). So consider your 0.6 pound gain (or my recent 0.68 pound gain) against that backdrop. Temper your disappointment with the knowledge that it may not really mean you’ve actually gained weight, that weight varies daily, and that the bigger picture is the one that is most meaningful.

    Hope that helps 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much for, as always, saying the right thing at the right moment! You can always manage to put things into perspective for me, and, for that, I am extremely grateful!

      Sometimes it’s easy to forget that it’s taken me more than two decades to acquire this weight, which means that the idea of the weight coming off without fail every single week is not going to be a likely occurrence. Sometimes there are going to be gains; I just have to accept that!

      Obviously our bodies don’t run like a machine. Sometimes doing everything “right” doesn’t heed the results we’re looking for at that very moment… But we’ll get there! Someday, I know that all of us will get this weight off! Maybe it’ll be in a year, maybe it’ll be in five years. Either way, I know we’ll make it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve actually stared at this page for like 10 minutes, just thinking of something to comment, I feel the need to comment, but everything I’d say would just be the general stuff others have already said, you already know all of that. You’ve been here before and you know a human body does not work like a clock.

    You’ll do what you need to do, and that is push forward and put a smile on that face – hopefully without stressing too much about things that don’t matter in the end, like your small gain. You should never feel discouraged or displeased with your progress, as it is staggering, it’s phenomenal.

    So let’s keep moving forward, with a smile!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thank you so much!

      I think discouragement is just part of the process. Weight loss, in my opinion, isn’t a constantly happy ordeal. Yes, I feel better, I look better, I can move better, etc., but that doesn’t necessarily mean I’m happy all of the time.

      Thankfully, though, I’ve made a lifestyle change! I really understood the full gravity of that idea this week. Even though I was disappointed, it never crossed my mind — not even once — that I should “give up.” This is just the way my life is now — good, bad, and ugly. I eat healthy and keep up the work even when the effort doesn’t magically affect the scale.

      That’s a big deal.

      I’ve come a long way since Sept. 10th! 😀

      Liked by 2 people

      • I disagree rather strongly with you there, for me this journey is nothing but smiles nowadays – the weight can go up and it can go down, what matters the most is that I’m enjoying the journey to health with every step taken with not even one day being discouraging or disappointing regardless of the scale 🙂

        Took me a long while to get into this place inside of my head, but I’m there and oh boy was it worth it!

        You’re doing great and it’s good you’ll keep going! With a smile 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Hang in there! I know how frustrating small losses and small gains can be, but it sounds like you have the right attitude: just gotta keep going!

    Sometimes you need to shake things up – have a “cheat meal” (hate that term) or switch up your exercise routine to something completely different for a day or two. Maybe cut out carbs for a couple of days or something. Throwing your system a curve ball every once in a while can shake things up and get things moving. Just an idea 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thanks so much, Gen!

      I know I’m just replying now (and I’m sorry it’s taken so long, by the way!), but I did read this earlier in the week and decided to take your advice!

      I made an effort to use all 44 of my daily PointsPlus allowance every. single. day…. NO MATTER WHAT! And I also used 15 of my weeklies, which is a first for me! The most I’ve ever used in one week was 8!

      I am hoping that the idea of throwing my system a curve ball is going to work this week, but I’m feeling really anxious about my weigh-in tomorrow. It’s hard knowing that I’ve eaten more than usual this week! If my weight goes up or stays the same this week, I’m going to have a “reason” for it. When I had this small gain last week, there was truly no reason for it. I didn’t eat too much and wasn’t eating crappy food… it was just one of those things that happened! However, this week I did eat more, so if I have another gain, I’ll have to take the blame for that…

      So wish me luck! Let’s hope this worked! ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  7. I’m leaning in Gen’s direction on this one. Do you eat the same foods most days? I’m thinking that switching up your eating routine and even taking a week or two where you systematically use ALL of your weeklies would be helpful. When I stalled in the past, I once found that I actually wasn’t eating enough, and I was eating too many processed foods. When I changed that, my losses happened again!

    As always, I’m proud of you! You work so hard, and you constantly inspire me to keep going!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks, Alison! ❤

      We've talked a lot this week, so you already know that I took your advice! There's a chance I didn't eat enough last week, but that's certainly not the case this time around! 😉

      I hope you and Gen were on to something and that this worked for me!

      I'm nervous!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Sounds like we all understand. Been there, done that! It doesn’t feel good, but keep on, keeping on. Then victory shows up and wow, it’s great!
    Remember when this started I gained two pounds (what?). Everyone tried to encourage me, including you. Then I ended up at chiropractors (what?)
    Well, I’m slowly getting better, lost those two pounds and another two.
    Progress is slow, but good. I can see total victory just around the corner.
    My advice is “Look up, keep going, and see your victory.”
    Also, I know how it is when “work” is overwhelming. Don’t worry about us, take care of you. As your victory comes so will ours. We are pulling for you my young friend. Gods blessings to you
    http://www.talkingtomyweightlosscounselor.wordpress.com

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much, Deborah!

      As always, your encouragement means so much to me! ❤

      I have continued to press on this week, and I am hoping to see a victory tomorrow! But, even if I don't, I'm still going to keep going! Somewhere along the line, success will find me! Success will find ALL OF US!

      I am so proud of you for losing those two pounds AND an additional two! That is so fantastic! I'm also glad to know that you're getting better! 😀

      Life is good! We are all doing so well!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Even though I dropped out for a few days (week?) due to getting wounded in action ( just old, tried too much too soon) , I averaged 5437 daily with 38060 total.

    I plan on commuting to another month. I do want to get stronger. I have four pounds to weight goal ( given to me in 1974) and with Gods help I’m getting there. Yep!

    And this Grandma is proud, so proud of you and the others in this group too. Because of all y’all, I am getting better and stronger. Thank you, love to you all

    Liked by 2 people

    • YAY! CONGRATULATIONS!

      That is amazing, Deborah! I am so happy for you and proud of you! You did such a great job! I am thankful for your friendship and readership, and I’m so glad that you did this with us!

      How has this week gone for you? Round two started this past Monday! Have you still been walking? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, my friend!

      My blog is named My Journey—One Day at a Time for a reason, but sometimes I forget that! When you get moving and things start to go your way, you start to see the big picture and the big victories and you let all of that overshadow what’s really, really important — the day-to-day stuff and the little victories like baggy jeans and easier movement and a decreased appetite! 😀

      I need to remember to focus on each day!

      Like

    • Thank you so much!

      It helps having you ladies over on Fitbit! The challenges keep me motivated and remind me to just keep moving forward in spite of whatever discouragement I feel.

      Thanks so much for helping in that way! 😀

      Like

  10. Rachel, I have been keeping up with 5 k steps — and I have lost more weight. Wow! Only two more pounds to reach the goal given to me by WW in 1974. Wow!
    If I wasn’t such a drop out- maybe I could be a lifetime member. Maybe it wouldn’t have taken me 41 years to reach goal.
    But God is so good and I’m still just eating “half”. I feel so blessed.
    Ps. My back no longer hurts. Yea ! Chiropractor worked, still working on the neck though. But it’s almost gone. Grandma needs to go slow and increase her exercise slowly in order to let the body that hasn’t moved much adjust.
    I am getting stronger. How does that song go? What don’t kill you just makes you stronger. LOL.
    I am getting stronger.
    Thank you Rachel for your inspiration,
    Gods love (mine too) to all in this group. Deborah
    http://www.talkingtomyweightlosscounselor.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

