Frustrations!

16 thoughts on “Frustrations!

  1. First of all let me help you scream-
    AHJHH. AHHHH. AHHHH
    2nd I wish you could see how beautiful you are.
    3rd MEDS- it’s probably the MEDS.
    4th Long ago, I heard someone on WW had a trick they used to lose quicker. They used the lowest points one day and the highest the next day. She said this kick started her metabolism. ???
    Maybe just take a week off and eat only half portions with just three meals and don’t worry about the math of points for awhile. But don’t stop your meetings- that group helps you with support so much.
    Proud of how you’re handling this, so much better than I would have. Check the side effects of the MEDS- See if any lists weight gain as a side effect. Some of my husbands MEDS do, poor thing.
    I haven’t shared on fb or my blog, but I’m stuck in a hotel room w/o transportation. Hubby working temp job & I flew in to visit him. I just didn’t go back home as expected. So to “get out”, I’m walking approx 2 miles a day (5000 steps+\-) thanks to you.
    I walk to stores close by. I also ride s stationary bike 30-35 mins a day (5 miles).
    So even though I ate too many halves of the sweets hubby had in his pantry, in the past three weeks I have lost. I also drink more water (4 bottles)
    So check those MEDS, start your exercise slowly, and drink your water.
    I know you usually only post after your WW meeting but maybe a short mini daily post would help. At least it would help us that care n worry. Ha ha! I’ll pray for you, all of us will. We care, don’t stop. Don’t give up. My next blog ( because of you) will be Never Give Up, Never Give Up. I’ve been thinking of that and now your post confirmed it.
    Lord put Your arms around Rachel and hug her tight. Let her feel Your love for her. Amen, Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Debbie!

      I appreciate you helping me scream—I think it was necessary! πŸ˜‰

      Thank you for also thinking I’m beautiful! That was such a nice thing to say!

      I think that you *might* be talking about the Wendie Plan. I have heard about this, too, but I’m not entirely sure how it works. If I still am not progressing this week, I think that’s going to be my next plan of action!

      The medication I’m taking might be to blame, but I’m honestly not sure. When my doctor first prescribed them a month ago, I checked the possible side effects then + I didn’t see anything about weight gain. Also, I’ve been consistently taking the pills for a month now, and I have had SOME weight loss this month, so I’m just not sure if that’s what’s causing the trouble. Maybe it is, though. I’ll have to give my doctor a call, maybe.

      I am so very, very proud of you for walking so much and for resisting temptation! That’s amazing! Congratulations on your continued weight loss, too! That’s incredible! ❀

      I won't give up, Debbie—I promise. I will figure out a way to push past these struggles. Thank you so much for your continued support + your thoughts + prayers. I couldn't do this without you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry if you already thought of this, but some medications can cause weight gain. Is that something that might have happened? I completely sympathize with everything you talked about, and understand completely. Especially the comparing to others’ experiences. If it means anything, watching and listening to you today has made me determined to redouble my efforts. I dropped 21 pounds over the last few months, and the last week, I have started to slip in my calorie counting, and having more carbs. I can feel the change in my body from it already and it has bringing me slowly down. So I thank you for that, and am sending you lots of positive energy!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi, Matt!

      Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

      I am not sure if it’s the medication or not—maybe! When I first started taking the pills, I looked up potential side effects + didn’t see weight gain listed. Also, I’ve been consistently taking the pills for over a month now + I have had SOME weight loss, so I’m just not sure what’s going on. I’ll have to maybe look into that more!

      It’s hard not to compare, isn’t it? I find myself doing it all the time, although I really wish I wouldn’t! No one’s body is the same, so no one’s journey is going to be the same either, yet I still find myself wanting to lose faster or progress differently. This blogging community is awesome because we can support each other, but it’s also tough because it gives you a handful of people to judge yourself against.

      Congratulations on losing 21 lbs.! That is awesome + I am so proud of you—really! That’s an awesome accomplishment. I totally understand about slipping + slacking—I’m doing the same sorts of things. Today was a BAD day eating-wise. I grazed all day + I was seriously disappointed in my choices. It’s so easy to get off track! That’s the trouble with being addicted to food—unlike other addicts, we’ve got to eat to live, so we have to learn how to control the addiction, not just simply avoid it all together. I really noticed myself slipping into old, familiar routines today + I was horrified by how easy it was to pick up right where I left off 9 months ago. Ugh! I guess we will always be works in progress, right?

      I am so glad that I was able to say something to make you want to continue on with your efforts! That’s awesome + I wish you the best of luck! I know you can do it! I believe in you! ❀

      Thanks so much for the support—it means a lot to have you here! You've helped me, too! I'm sending lots of positive energy right back at you! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • 1 Timothy 4:12 … Be an example to all believers in what you say, in the way you live, in your love, your faith, and your purity.
        ( How’s that both for confirmation and conviction. Pray for me too! It’s amazing how quickly food addiction is just waiting for us to slip in our thoughts so that it can pull us down.
        But girl, our God is a God of second chances, for me, a million chances.
        Our victory is just ahead. We are winners and we will/ have defeated this enemy of ours.
        Debbie
        http://www.talkingtomyweightlosscounselor.wordpress.com

        Like

  3. Can I just say I love your nails? I was slightly distracted by them (in a good way) lol I think Deborah has the right idea of calorie cycling. In my experience it helps when I have a plateau to have a higher calorie day. I’ll have a very small gain then I’ll be back to losing again (beyond the gain of course). Basically you “confuse” your body into a state of higher metabolism or something…google it XD

    The gain sounded unwarranted, so I can totally get your frustration. It makes me sad that you felt like binge eating after the gain…I’ve been there and caved to it so many times. I’m glad you didn’t πŸ™‚ I hope you love yoga as much as I do!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thanks, Brittany! ❀

      I had really awesome pointy pinup nails, but I broke one so I had to have them all reshaped back to square :/ I'm glad you like them though! πŸ˜€

      I think that that's going to be my next plan of action if things don't turn around this week; I might try the Wendie Plan. My problem could definitely be that my body is too used to what I'm currently doing… Maybe I DO need to confuse it a little!

      I wish I hadn't immediately thought of binging, but I did. Hopefully that urge will change with time, but I have to be prepared if it doesn't. I've been feeling off ever since, honestly + I made some not-so-great food choices today. But oh well. It happens! I just have to keep pressing onwards and upwards.

      Thanks for offering to be my yoga accountability buddy, also! I am looking forward to that! You're my fitness inspiration, so hopefully I can get into yoga + fitness as much as you! ❀

      Liked by 2 people

  4. I feel your pain, except I TOTALLY know why I am gaining. πŸ™‚ And oh my gosh, I’m definitely going through the same thing with comparing! I feel embarrassed sometimes to post what I have lost because my weekly average is so low compared to yours and others on here. This summer, I plan on upping my water and trying to eat as many power foods as possible. Maybe you should up your water even more or try some new recipes. Sometimes changing your normal habits but still eating within your points can help. Hang in there girl, you have done so awesome! I feel like once you do start losing again, you’ll have some pretty big losses. πŸ™‚

    Ps….just think about how in the past you would have let this totally derail you. At least, these plateaus used to do that for me. Now, you are winning simply because you aren’t quitting!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks, Ellen! ❀

      Don't ever be embarrassed to post your stats! I think that everyone is doing an awesome job—seriously. I am way harder on myself than I am on everyone else. When someone else loses a pound, I am so excited for them + think it's great that they're making progress, but then when I lose a pound, I get discouraged because it's "not enough." Stupid, right?! Ugh! I need to learn not to compare!

      I think those are great goals + I decided to follow your lead with the water! One of my goals for June is to up my water intake + today I did a little better, but not great. I'm going to keep trying, though! I need to drink more water! That is the new mantra!

      Thanks so much for your support + for stopping by to encourage me! Your support means so much to me! I think you're doing an awesome job with your weight loss + I am super excited to see how everything goes for you this summer! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love when you post videos, Rachael! To be completely honest, it comforts my view of my own journey to see that others have the same struggles that I do. With that being said, I’m sorry that you also have this struggle, but obviously you’re not alone. It is totally frustrating!
    But, I really think it could be a metabolism thing. You’ve been on a routine for so long, you’re body is probably just running with the motions at this point. If you don’t already, I would recommend green tea daily. It’s delicious and I swear by that stuff for weight loss! Also, I’m sure bringing back exercise will make a big impact on the scale. Your body probably just needs recharged. Extra tea, water, super foods. And… If you’re feeling truly ambitious, I would also recommend a mini cleanse like I had done. Maybe for a week or so, whatever works for you. To get your body back in the game! It did wonders for my own journey! Good luck, lady! Let us know your game plan when you decide πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Harley! ❀

      I know exactly what you mean! Part of why I love this blog so much is because I know I can come here + vent + then be inundated with a chorus of "me too!" It's nice to know that these feelings aren't strange or out of the ordinary! I think it sucks that we all struggle, but it is definitely also nice to know that I am not alone! πŸ™‚

      I think that you might be right. A lot of the previous commenters have said the same thing + I think it's entirely possible that my body might be a little too used to what I'm doing right now. I do drink green tea, actually, but not every day. I drink several cups of hot green tea on Thursdays (the day before weigh-in) in an attempt to "flush out" all of the water weight + excess garbage, but maybe I need to do that more than just the day before weigh-in. I will add it to my daily routine this week!

      If I still don't see any progress after this week, I think I will need to do something drastic, so maybe I will do a cleanse! Who knows. We'll just have to wait it out, I guess.

      Thanks for always being such a good friend, Harley + for always being so supportive! It means the world! ❀

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Rachel remember, “Falling down is not failure. Refusing to get up again to start over is failure.”
    Confession : Sunday Hubby got sick, with his blood sugar out of whack. Later at supper, I ate too many half desserts due toy stress over his health. I think I ate five halves of differerent sweets. These are mostly sweets he bought. He had made comment that he guessed when these were gone he won’t buy more. So stupid me took it as my wifely duty to help him eat these sweets gone. Stupid huh?
    The Lord woke me up the next morning, “I can’t use you unless You obey Me.” A couple of weeks ago, he spoke to my heart to eat only one half of one dessert, no more. Then Sunday night I ate five halves. I felt conviction but ate them anyway.
    Monday morning my sister sends me this scripture not knowing what I did the night before.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Goals. | My Journey--One Day at a Time

  8. Pingback: 250.8 | My Journey–One Day at a Time

Leave a Reply

