Goals.

Hi, friends!

After my less-than-stellar weigh-in on Friday, I have to admit: I was feeling kind of down on myself.

Although I had the great intention of just pressing onwards and upwards and doubling my efforts this week in an attempt to see some progress on the scale, the first couple of days after the weigh-in didn’t go well, and I think it’s safe to say that my attitude was to blame.

I did fairly well with my food choices on Friday (after the lunchtime Mexican food fiasco, that is). For dinner, I made the summer salad recipe that Alison over at Journey to After featured on her blog last summer.

On Saturday, I also did fairly well (even managing to successfully navigate a dinner outing with my family at a BBQ joint!), but I was still pretty snacky; I did a little grazing that I was unsatisfied with.

On Sunday, my grazing and snacking was even worse… I actually managed to consume 10 PointsPlus worth of ice cream that day.

Yesterday, the snacking and grazing came to a head. I did super well at breakfast, but then I started eating out of boredom, and I didn’t realize that until it was too late. When lunch rolled around, for some reason I thought it’d be appropriate to have some garlic and herb naan for 8 PointsPlus along with 22 Ore Ida sweet potato fries (4 PointsPlus) covered in Ken’s Steak House Lite Chunky Bleu Cheese (1 PointsPlus). I didn’t have any protein or any fruits or veggies—I just ate straight carbs. This lead to more afternoon snacking, and by the time dinner rolled around, I only had 8 PointsPlus left for the day.

By mid-afternoon yesterday, I realized that I’d made a grave mistake. I realized that my eating patterns were inching dangerously close to what they were 9 months ago, so I decided that I needed to turn things around ASAP. On Friday, I’d promised myself that I wasn’t going to use weeklies this week, so I decided that I was going to try to salvage the day and prepare a healthy, low point meal that stayed within my 8 point requirement.

I ended up baking 7 PointsPlus worth of pink salmon with pepper, dill, and fresh lemon juice and then plating it up alongside a big salad made with lettuce, peppers, and 2 Tbsp. of Bolthouse Farms bleu cheese dressing (1 PointsPlus). I also drank 24 oz. of seltzer water with the meal.

I wasn’t satisfied with how my day had been altogether, but I just let it go.


This morning, I woke up a woman on a mission.

I decided to turn my week around for real and to get down to business. I want the scale to move, and I’m the only one with the power to make that happen, so it’s time to get serious.

I made a big breakfast to help keep me full and energized for my day, and everything aside from the mashed avocado was Simply Filling (meaning it was a power food):

photo

Toasted Oroweat everything sandwich thin (3PP) with half of an avocado (4PP) on top, 1/2 c. liquid egg whites (1PP), and a strawberry cheesecake Yoplait Greek 100 (2PP). Not pictured: 12 oz. seltzer water and black coffee with 2 Tbsp. SF French Vanilla Coffee Mate (1PP).

So far, so good.

I did get a bit hungry mid-morning and had 10 sour cream and onion Pop Chips for 1 PointsPlus, and I’m OK with that.

I’m taking control of my eating today, and I’m going to make sure that the rest of my day (and the rest of the week!) is just as on point as this meal.

Enough is enough!


Over on my Instagram page, I set some goals for the month of June:

photo

I think that these things are definitely doable, and I’m going to work on accomplishing them each day. Brittany over at Being Happy has offered to help me by being my yoga accountability buddy, so I really think that I should be able to do this!

Another goal that I’ve decided to set for myself is one that goes beyond June: by the end of summer, I’d like to be in the 230s. That means losing about 13 lbs. or so by the time August is through, which I think is manageable. If I can lose more than that, that’d be great, but as of now, this is what I’m aiming for.


Have you guys set any goals for yourself this month or for the summer? If so, drop me a line down below and tell me about it! We can keep each other accountable and help each other meet or surpass our own expectations!

I hope you’re all enjoying your week.

Happy June!

Eat well. Be well.

rachaelxoxo

10 thoughts on “Goals.

  1. Avocado on toast has been one of my favourites for a while now, it’s so amazingly simple and delicious, can’t believe I lived most of my life without it!

    I’m getting back on track now and I’ve challenged myself to exercise a ton and get to under 80kg (176lbs-ish) by the end of June, and maybe possibly even to 75kg/165lbs by the end of August. Staying determined and focused is tough but we can so do this! 🙂

    Good luck with your summer goals (and to me on mine)!

    x

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s just become one of my favorites as of late, too! I love it! 😀

      That’s an awesome goal! What kind of exercise are you planning to do? Do you work out in a gym, or do you just do home workouts?

      I think that you can DEFINITELY make your weight goals this summer! I’ll be pulling for you! You have my full support! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I do home workouts, can’t afford a gym membership I’m afraid! There’s a really nice looking one right next to where I live too…

        I just read your most recent post.. I know how frustrating weight loss stalls can be, but just stick to it and eventually you will get results (fact!) – and imagine how amazing you’ll feel when you do!

        Thank you! Also just want you to know that even if I don’t comment that often I’ve been lurking for a while and am rooting for you too 🙂 x

        Like

  2. I have an end of the year goal of 60lbs lost total. 32lbs in 7 months is possible if I stop screwing around. 13lbs by August is completely possible for you! I wish you the best of luck in your goals, and I’ll be here for you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I 100% know and believe that you can be down a total of 60 lbs. by the end of the year! I know you’re going through a lot of stuff right now (and I’ll head over to your blog tomorrow to comment more on that), but your health and wellness is SO important, and I KNOW that you can do this. You are capable of anything you set your mind to, Brittany. You are a strong, powerful, and capable woman, and you can push past all of the crap in your life and make time for YOURSELF and achieve the goals you’ve set in your heart. I’m here for you always, and even if you don’t have unshakable faith in yourself, just know that I do!

      XO. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you Rachel. I know how important my health is, and despite my blog post, I really do want to keep trying. It’s just so hard to figure out how to not turn to food when I’m stressed. I keep trying other techniques, like yoga/deep breathing, going for a walk, etc. and they help in the moment but the feeling returns. I am thankful for your faith in me. If you can believe in me, I think I can believe in myself. ❤

        Like

  3. Pingback: 251.0 | My Journey–One Day at a Time

Leave a Reply

