251.0

Screen Shot 2015-06-05 at 1.34.11 PM

Starting Weight: 318.2 lbs.
Weight Last Week: 253.6 lbs.
Current Weight: 251 lbs.
Weekly Change: –2.6 lbs.
Total Weight Lost: 67.2 lbs.


Hi, friends!

I think it’s safe to say that I’m back on track!

The wakeup call that I had on Tuesday was enough, it seems, to turn my week around! It is so imperative to remember that going backwards is not an option, so I’m thankful that I was able to realize that I was slipping back into old habits before I did too much damage. I think that just being hyperaware of what’s happening shows tremendous progress on my part.

I’m thankful that I didn’t get back on the train to Nowheresville! Going backwards is a lot easier than I thought or hoped it would be, unfortunately.

Obviously, I am still a work in progress.


I lost 2.6 lbs. this week, meaning that I was able to drop the 1.4 lbs. that I gained last week and also drop an additional 1.2 lbs. as well.

I feel good about this loss!

I am now just 2.8 lbs. away from a 70 lb. loss, and if I work hard enough this week, I just might be able to hit that goal next Friday. Even more exciting than that, though, is the fact that I’m now just 1.1 lbs. away from the 240s. As I’ve said in a few of my other posts, I never imagined that—as an adult—I’d ever see a weight below 250.

This number, for some reason, has always felt very significant to me. I’ve always sort of thought that people who weighed under 250 were “normal” fat—the kind of fat where, yes, you’re still considered overweight or obese, but at the same time, you’re also no longer considered a sideshow act at the circus (which, by the way, is an apt description of how I felt when I weighed almost 320 lbs.). I’m not sure what gave me the idea that this is the territory of “normal,” but it’s an idea I’ve always had, so suffice it to say, I’m looking forward to being under 250 lbs.!


Two weeks ago, I told you guys that I had lunch with a friend from high school, and I admitted to her that I lost my weight with the help of Weight Watchers. She’s graduating from college tomorrow, and that day also happens to be her birthday. She’s invited me to a big celebration:

Come celebrate my birthday/graduation! There will be cake and some drinks at my apartment starting around 8, and then we’ll be going to the bars around [campus] to celebrate with all those over 21! Please contribute to the beverages for the night!

So not only will there be cake and booze at her apartment, but then everyone is going on a barcrawl. Yikes.

On one hand, I would like to go to this party because I’ve never done anything even remotely close to this before. I’m only 22, yet I feel like I’ve missed out on so much. Unfortunately, my weight really hindered my college/young adult experiences (at least thus far).

I’ve never been to a genuine bar or to a club or even to a college party before. I had to stop attending “traditional” college classes because I was too big to make it work. Weighing nearly 320 lbs., I couldn’t fit into the desks at school, and walking across campus to get to my classes in a timely fashion was basically impossible. Because I switched to an online program fairly early on in my college career, I never got the chance to really make any friends, so I didn’t get invited to stuff like this.

So part of me would really, really like to have this experience—it feels really nice to finally be invited to something like this.

However… I also know that, realistically, this is a very bad idea.

One piece of cake at her apartment? Sure. One beer at her apartment? Sure.

But what about the barcrawl?

Alcohol adds up quickly points-wise, and I’m sure everyone’s heard the saying you shouldn’t drink your calories.

I know that I don’t have to drink—I could easily order water at every bar—but, honestly, what’s the point of that? Why even go to a barcrawl if you aren’t going to drink?

If I do go, one of two things are bound to happen: 1) I give in to peer pressure, drink at every stop we make, and then be completely upset with myself Sunday morning for blowing through my daily and weekly points. I’ll probably have a tough time recuperating the rest of the week, too, because I’ll be fighting sugar cravings tooth and nail due to crazy booze consumption, or 2) I stick with the plan to drink water at every bar and then end up having to babysit a bunch of drunk, rowdy college kids all night long, which means I’ll probably have a horrible time. As the only sober one, I’ll also probably be saddled with a bunch of responsibility that I don’t actually want to be saddled with… But at least I’ll be able to say that I did it once, right?

What’s a girl to do?

The easiest answer is: don’t go… Which is the decision I’ve pretty much been set on since I got the invite.

I guess that part of this journey is learning that you have to do what’s best for you, even if that’s not exactly the most fun or popular thing to do.

I am bummed that I don’t feel like I can do this. I’m bummed that I’m having to miss out on yet another fun, “normal” college experience.

However… I have goals. I want to be in the 230s by the end of summer, and I also hope to have lost 100+ lbs. by the time my own college graduation and birthday rolls around in December, and those goals are more important to me than saying that I went on a barcrawl.

They’re more important than most other things, if I’m being honest.

In order to get to where I ultimately want and need to be, I guess I’ll just have to continue missing out on some stuff.

I think the end result will be worth it, but who knows.

Either way, it still isn’t a nice feeling to have to miss out on stuff, no matter what the reasoning may be.


A couple of days ago, I told you guys about my June goals. I want to briefly give you an update on those:

Yoga was a complete and total fail this week; I didn’t even make an attempt. My back has been bothering me, so I didn’t want to risk it. My goal was/is to do it at least 3x a week, but that isn’t happening this week. However, I’m going to try my best to do it both tomorrow and Sunday morning, so 2/3 isn’t too bad! I will make a better effort next week.

As for my other two goals, I’m doing great! I have definitely been increasing my water intake, and since Tuesday, I’ve also been paying very close attention to the quality of my food, not just the quantity.

Overall, I’m happy with my progress so far, and I hope to continue improving throughout the month!


I hope you’re all doing well with your monthly and summer goals, too. I also hope that you had a lovely week.

I wish you a happy and successful upcoming week!

Eat well. Be well.

rachaelxoxo

4 thoughts on “251.0

  1. I agree with your decision not to go bar hoping. You are making the most responsible decision for yourself.
    I know a guy that went bar hoping to celebrate school graduation and he ended up drunk. He was a really good guy but as a drunk he ran into a house. It killed two adults sleeping in their own bed. They had five children. He was so drunk he left the scene and went somewhere else to call someone to come and get him. He is now is prison for many years. My niece is in love with him. She was before this accident. But his life and the life of five children is forever changed.
    So bar hoping is not worth it.
    I’m so proud of you. Even though you are young, you make wise decisions. Keep on- keeping on. Your deeply care about other people and their hearts. Keep on keeping on.
    You have a great future ahead. Focus on your goals and your dreams will come true.
    Debbie

    Like

  2. Also I went to sleep worrying about you, wondering how it went. So much for my faith. Ha ha.
    But I’m so proud for your victory. HE told me to tell you “Never give up.”
    God bless you and may He grant you the desires of your heart.
    Also, how about meeting that guy that was nice over phone but never met you. You said that he has grow cold toward you, maybe because after asking so much to meet you, with your refusals, he just gave up. Hmm,
    I’m interfering now – God’s blessing to you, my friend.

    Like

  3. Wow! 70 lbs…so close! I think your issue with the bar hopping is by far the worst problem I have. I am super social and my friends love to drink. Louisiana is a drinking state. We have drive-thru daiquiri shops…where it’s legal to drive with one as long as the straw isn’t in the cup…so yeah, I think it’s super strong and wise of you to skip out. I really don’t think I could do that! What I have done in the past is drink a diet coke (which isn’t great either) and my friends think I’m drinking, so there is no peer pressure. Isn’t it crazy how we have to maneuver that?

    Anyway, you need to do what you have to do. I have even started skipping on parties lately because I just simply haven’t been hitting my goals AT ALL! And my friends will say things like “one beer won’t make you gain”, but we all know one beer leads to more beers!

    Let us know what decision you make. Either way, you will win simply because you are planning it out.

    Like

  4. Pingback: 249.4 | My Journey--One Day at a Time

Leave a Reply

