245.4

Screen Shot 2015-07-31 at 8.31.44 PM

Starting Weight: 318.2 lbs.
Weight Last Week: 246.4 lbs.
Current Weight: 245.4 lbs.
Weekly Change: –1 lb.
Total Weight Lost: 72.8 lbs.


Hi, friends!

I lost a pound this week, meaning I was able to shake off that 0.8 lb. gain from last week and also lose an additional 0.2 lb.

For the month of July, I lost a very respectable 6.2 lbs., and I am content with that.

I am now just 2.2 lbs. away from a 75-lb. loss, and I am hoping to hit that this coming week. I desperately want August to be my month! I’m close to so many different goals. At the beginning of summer, I made it my goal to get to the 230s by the time the season drew to a close, and I am so very, very close! I am just 5.5 lbs. away from the 230s; I can make it there within these next few weeks if I really, really try—I know it! That big 7-5 is in reach and the 230s are in reach!

I just need to keep reminding myself of my capabilities and focus and keep pushing myself!


My rebirthday (September 12th—my one year anniversary with Weight Watchers) is fast approaching.

I am 7.2 lbs. away from an even 80-lb. loss.

I will admit that when I first started Weight Watchers, I had absolutely no expectation of success for the program. I was at the end of my rope, I was more desperate than I’d ever been before, and I was at the point where I felt beyond help. At nearly 320 lbs., I felt out of control and trapped by my body, and I saw no way out.

Weight Watchers saved my life.

As time went on and I started losing weight, my attitude changed, however, and I found myself straying away from that mindset of “don’t expect anything.”

For awhile, I clung to the idea that maybe I’d be one of the lucky ones—one of those people who was able to drop 100 lbs. in just one year.

Alas, as September 12th is now a mere 42 days (6 weeks) away, I know that safely losing 27.2 lbs. is not possible, but I am OK with that.

I will be celebrating my rebirthday regardless.

I am a better, healthier, happier, and stronger woman today than I was a year ago.

Numbers can’t dictate that.

However, for the sake of full disclosure, I’d be lying if I said my eye wasn’t set on that big 8-0.


Speaking of full disclosure: I had another binge last weekend.

In my blog last week, I mentioned that I had relapsed, but I decided I was going to fight the good fight to get back on track.

That didn’t happen this past week.

I had another binge on Saturday—exactly one week after the first binge—and I’m estimating that it cost me between 25 and 30 PointsPlus. I wouldn’t know, however, because I didn’t track it.

I didn’t track a lot of things last week, actually.

Apparently I’m now pretending to be an ostrich: if I burry my head in the sand so that I can’t see the world, whatever’s out there doesn’t exist… like the 6 chocolate donuts I scarfed in one sitting.

I don’t know why I’ve started lying to myself these past couple of weeks, but it’s got to stop.

Unlike last week, I am dead set on fighting the good fight.

There will be no more binging and no more fudging my PointsPlus consumption.

Period.


My goals for the month of August are as follows:

  • Track EVERYTHING
  • Celebrate 75-lb. loss
  • Make it to the 230s
  • Daily positive affirmations

I leave you with a bit of paraphrased wisdom from my friend Sade—one of the other leaders at my Weight Watchers meeting.

Think about one aspect of your body that you hate.

Now think of a person whom you care for very much. What are some qualities of theirs that make them so important to you? Are they kind, compassionate, considerate, loyal, understanding, generous, supportive, or maybe a good listener? Maybe all of the above and more?

Was their weight or were their so-called imperfections even on your radar? Do those things determine what you like or dislike about them?

If not, then why should you think that others immediately look for, think of, or list the negatives or so-called imperfections that plague you?

Moral of the story, ladies and gentlemen: treat yourselves with the same kindness and respect that you show to others.

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful week.

Eat well. Be well.

rachaelxoxo

2 thoughts on “245.4

  1. I love what your friend Sade said. We are very close in weight and I can’t tell you how incredible it felt to see 239 on the scale. I can’t wait for you to feel that too! You can do this!! Ps even though you haven’t hit 100 lbs in a year I think you are simply incredible. You’ve done a fantastic job this year and don’t let an arbitrary number make you think differently.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sade gave wonderful advice Rachel. Know that in the pictures you post we all see a beautiful young successful woman. Beautiful inside and out.

    Your binge stories confirm to me why I can’t snack. If I ever get started, God help us all. I know what I’m capable of. Been there, done that. Didn’t get a t-shirt. That’s why I guess God directed me to only eat three meals when I cried out to Him for help. He knew what I was capable of too.

    Take a deep breathe and sit down. I’m embarrassed, it has taken this old woman two years to lose 84 pounds. Sad but true.

    Then I think, but what if I had done this in my 40’s,? How different my life would have been. What if my 30’s or 20’s? How I wasted many years. Uh, decades of my life.

    I confess I love my desserts too much. That’s why my progress has been so slow- desserts. But God has been gracious to me and allowed me to lose weight anyway, just not as fast as others. I can live with that.

    I would have eaten half a chocolate donut for one meal and then the other half later. I would have enjoyed the taste but after eating a half portion, the temptation leaves because I know I can have more later. Then later I just don’t want them. I wonder how many points are there in a half choc donut?

    I’ve heard many many times over that it is a life change. That takes time. Just don’t wait until your 60 to make the change. Enjoy your life to the fullest. There is so much ahead for you.
    My love to you and your group,
    Debbie

    Like

Leave a Reply

